Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi. Please excuse me I'm new at this, but the newbie section just didn't seem appropriate. I can't seem to unpack/extract the kernel source without difficulty. I've tried every 2.6 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unpacking kernel source produces duplicate files

Hi. Please excuse me I'm new at this, but the newbie section just didn't seem appropriate. I can't seem to unpack/extract the kernel source without difficulty. I've tried every 2.6 version. They all turn up several duplicate .h and .c files. I'm not sure whether I should agree to write over the previous or not. Maybe I need both copies. I've considered extracting twice, choosing both options, but then the files couldn't be configured properly. I should include that I'm using XP and I'm extracting with 7-zip. I can't see why either of those should be a problem. I'm obviously not going to develop on XP, I just want to study the source. I have good info for that, and I just want to be sure I have everything I need and it's in order. That's all. Any opinions out there?

How do you unpack, unpack to where?
    Since I think by your story you might unpacked a file. And almost unpacked over that the other file again.

Let me know.

Cheers,
    Robin
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

Just Joined!
    Hi Robin. Thanks for responding. I'm really eager to get into this stuff. So, I unpacked at the root ( C:\ ). But have also tried two folders inside that. No difference. I'd prefer to use the latest stable version. When I extract the .bz2 file I get a .tar file. No problem. When I extract the tar a window pops up alerting me a file already exists. Do I want to rewrite it? I'll choose yes, not yes to all, and it happens several other times. Here's the list.

All starting with C:\linux-2.6.31.6

\Documentation\io-mapping.txt
    \include\linux\netfilter\xt_connmark.h