Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi! I'm just an IT student, I'm working on a project and I need a little bit more knowledge about how files get executed in the kernel, I found something ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

binfmt and binary execution!

Hi!

I'm just an IT student, I'm working on a project and I need a little bit more knowledge about how files get executed in the kernel,

I found something about the binfmt but mostly on wrapper rather than real binary loaders (like a.out and elf).

I'm trying (unsuccessfully) to figure out exactly in which file the binary is loaded in to the memory, the only kzalloc I found is located in the do_exec() from exec.c but it should refer at the initialization of the struct linux_binprm, so it loads the file references on the memory, but not the file itself.

I'm sorry if my question isn't clear, summarizing, I would like to have more accurate information about how binary are loaded and executed by exec.c.

thank you

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Terms of use for these forums precludes helping people with school work. I have to think that your class provides the necessary resources and references to address these issues.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Rubberman View Post
    Terms of use for these forums precludes helping people with school work. I have to think that your class provides the necessary resources and references to address these issues.
    What??
    Ok, maybe, my fault, I try to explain it better, this is NOT a simple "school work", this is something that I need for my degree thesis,