Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
No I didn't install a custom kernel. it upgraded to the 2.6.31.21 from the original 2.6.31.14 when I went into update manager. So what I need to find is a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux User hatebreed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    335

    No I didn't install a custom kernel. it upgraded to the 2.6.31.21 from the original 2.6.31.14 when I went into update manager. So what I need to find is a 2.6 kernel that would be good to try, any thoughts?

  2. #12
    Linux User hatebreed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    335
    i didn't look when I used the live cd, didn't think it would be an issue. I would like to use a ubuntu kernel if possible. I'm pretty impressed with ubuntu so far, everything works. Well except for the 2 proc thing.

  3. #13
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    If you haven't done so already, I'd try reinstalling the current kernel or another kernel of your choice. I don't run Ubuntu so don't know what all is available in their repositories. However, pretty much all the default kernels that ship with different distros are smp enabled these days.
    oz

  4. #14
    Linux User hatebreed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    335
    how do I go about reinstalling the current kernel?

  5. #15
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    You should be able to install using apt by running the following commands from the command line:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install kernel_package_name
    You can also checkout Synaptic for installing packages under Ubuntu:

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SynapticHowto
    oz

  6. #16
    Linux User hatebreed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    335
    ok, just an update. I've installed all the different 2.6.31 kernels in synaptic and none find the 2nd proc. would it be a problem to go back to a 2.4 kernel to get it to work?

  7. #17
    Linux User hatebreed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    335
    found out going through google that it is a problem with acpi and the kernel is not seeing it correctly. Is there a way for the new kernels to look at cpus the old way, i.e. like the 2.4 kernel. Obviously this is a new way to look at multi core cpus than what was previously done.

  8. #18
    Linux User hatebreed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    335
    I got it!!!! edit your grub file in /etc/default/grub
    grub_cmdline_linux_default="apic=off apci=off splash screen"
    then run update-grub
    What an easy fix for such a big problem. Come to find out that a lot of tyan boards have issues with the apic. I don't understand why they changed the way the kernel sees multi processors though, it seemed to work just fine in the older kernels and now it doesn't. Anyways thanks for the help.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •