Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hi, Iam trying to compile and install the lnyx 2.6.27 kernel version. In this process i used the .config file of (SLES 10) kernel 2.6.16. on x86_64 architecture. I could ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3

    Question Networking issues with 2.6.27 build


    Hi,


    Iam trying to compile and install the lnyx 2.6.27 kernel version. In this process i used the .config file of (SLES 10) kernel 2.6.16. on x86_64 architecture.

    I could get the kernel boot the system sucessfully, with the perhiperal devices like the keyboard, mouse are working fine.

    However iam facing issues in bringing up the network. Even the loopback interface does not seem to come up. I cannot ping to 127.0.0.1, the error message is "interface not available".

    The card which i have is

    Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM5785 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 01)
    and the lspci -vvv shows the driver module as "tg3".

    I have configured the same in my kernel build to use tg3.



    The dmesg - output is this, and the lspci -vvv is as below. Could you pl help me in this process, since iam doing this for the first time and put all efforts to come so far.

    Thanks,
    Anup


    //lspci -vvv

    00:14.6 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM5785 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 01)
    Subsystem: Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM5785 Gigabit Ethernet
    Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
    Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
    Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 64 bytes
    Interrupt: pin C routed to IRQ 18
    Region 0: Memory at f2240000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
    Capabilities: [48] Power Management version 3
    Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot+,D3cold+)
    Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=1 PME-
    Capabilities: [40] Vital Product Data
    Product Name: Broadcom NetLink Gigabit Ethernet Controller
    Read-only fields:
    [PN] Part number: BCM95785
    [EC] Engineering changes: 106679-15
    [SN] Serial number: 0123456789
    [MN] Manufacture ID: 31 34 65 34
    [RV] Reserved: checksum good, 26 byte(s) reserved
    End
    Capabilities: [60] Vendor Specific Information <?>
    Capabilities: [50] MSI: Mask- 64bit+ Count=1/1 Enable-
    Address: 00000000fee03000 Data: 403a
    Kernel driver in use: tg3
    Kernel modules: tg3


    //ifconfig - a
    //ifconfig - a

    tilapia-anup:~ # ifconfig -a
    eth4 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:1A:1A:C5:FF
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Interrupt:18

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    LOOPBACK MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    //var/log/messages

    May 19 05:54:11 tilapia-anup kernel: tg3 mdio bus: probed
    May 19 05:54:11 tilapia-anup kernel: eth%d: attached PHY driver [Generic PHY] (mii_bushy_addr=a6:01)
    May 19 05:54:11 tilapia-anup kernel: eth0: Tigon3 [partno(BCM95785) rev 5785041 PHY(unknown)] (PCI:33MHz:32-bit) 10/100/1000Base-T Ethernet 00:00:1a:1a:c5:ff
    May 19 05:54:11 tilapia-anup kernel: eth0: RXcsums[1] LinkChgREG[0] MIirq[0] ASF[0] WireSpeed[1] TSOcap[1]
    May 19 05:54:11 tilapia-anup kernel: eth0: dma_rwctrl[763f000f] dma_mask[64-bit]May 19 05:54:11 tilapia-anup kernel: getcfg[4324]: segfault at 38 ip 00007fded1574930 sp 00007fffd989b938 error 4 in libsysfs.so.1.0.3[7fded156b000+c000]
    May 19 05:54:11 tilapia-anup ifup: Interface is not available
    May 19 05:54:13 tilapia-anup kernel: ip_tables: (C) 2000-2006 Netfilter Core Team
    May 19 05:55:47 tilapia-anup sudo: root : TTY=pts/1 ; PWD=/root ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/sbin/modprobe msr
    May 19 06:00:18 tilapia-anup sudo: root : TTY=pts/2 ; PWD=/root ; USER=root

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3
    Any inputs pl..

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,533
    I would have been very surprised if that .config file worked for you, since there are a lot of differences between how you need to configure your kernel for lynx and sles. You need to configure it yourself, either with the command "make menuconfig" or "make xconfig". The first one will bring up a curses-based text menu, and the second will bring up an X11 GUI window, assuming you are running under a GUI window manager such as KDE, Gnome, XFCE, etc.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks for the reply.
    Basically i did a make oldconfig and then did a make menuconfig where i selected the processor model, usb modules, file system, and this Tigon3 driver.

    So do u mean that i should not be using the .config, of this system installed with sles os??

  5. #5
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,533
    Quote Originally Posted by anup_sankaran View Post
    Thanks for the reply.
    Basically i did a make oldconfig and then did a make menuconfig where i selected the processor model, usb modules, file system, and this Tigon3 driver.

    So do u mean that i should not be using the .config, of this system installed with sles os??
    Well, if you did that, and you saved your work, you re-created .config with the new settings, so in effect you undid whatever was in the old .config file. At this point, I don't have enough information to help you sort this out. Since it seems your network is not coming up properly, then I think you have not configured that properly. I reconfigure and rebuild kernels all the time, for a variety of different distributions (RHEL, Ubuntu, Debian, Gentoo) and this is not a problem for me. I know EXACTLY what network stuff I need to enable in the kernel. If you are not sure, then use the defaults. You may get more stuff than you want, but you will likely get what you need...
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •