Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Firstly, let me just say, "Newbie alert!" This is my first time to attempt to build a Linux kernel. So, bear with me. I just wanted to warn you guys ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

installing the kernel onto a hard drive (not a distro)

Firstly, let me just say, "Newbie alert!" This is my first time to attempt to build a Linux kernel. So, bear with me.

I just wanted to warn you guys in advance. I am sorry if my questions are really stupid.

Anyway, so I downloaded the source code (version 3.0), and I have attempted to build it. I used menuconfig to configure the .config file; then I issued the make command to actually compile the kernel. Basically, I did as the README file said.

Since this was just a test, I kept things kind of minimal. Just basically the bare minimum that I thought I might need. (If needed, I can upload the .config file or the resulting bzImage. Just let me know if you guys need me to. The bzImage file is only about 2.6 MiB, I think.)

Onto an empty partition, I moved bzImage and installed Lilo. Then, I rebooted.

Lilo loads it, decompresses it, yada, yada, yada... A couple of other insignificant lines of text are displayed. The last to be shown is: "Booting the kernel."

Shortly after that (mere seconds), the hard drive activity light turns off. Nothing changes afterwards. Just a flashing cursor. I cannot type anything. There is no response from anything I do.

Is this a success? And, if so, how do I get some actual functionality, like a console to input commands? I thought that was part of the kernel itself... No? Even the lowest-level of commands are external?

And, if so, how do I get it to load things, such as a command shell?

Again, I apologize. I am not overly familiar with the inner-workings of Linux. Not yet, anyway. I hope for these experiences to change that.