Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I have created an image file and mounted it with ext4 file system. I want to store its information in sb_info structure of ext4 file system ext4.h header file ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

store a block device information in sb_info struct of ext4 file system

Hi,
    I have created an image file and mounted it with ext4 file system. I want to store its information in sb_info structure of ext4 file system ext4.h header file. I am not sure about how to modify the code as i am new to this file system.
    Could some one please help me with this !

Sorry I don't understand your requirement. ext4_sb_info is a in-memory representation of ext4 superblock do you want to store it on hard disk ? Anyway - they will be flushed disk once sb gets dirty .
    First they ignore you,Then they laugh at you,Then they fight with you,Then you win. - M.K.Gandhi
    -----
    FOSS India Award winning ext3fs Undelete tool www.giis.co.in. Online Linux Terminal http://www.webminal.org

Just Joined!
    thanks for the reply ! I appretiate that..

actually i am trying to separately store the metadata and the data and for doing that i have created an img file and formatted this partition with ext4. I need to store this partitions information in the ext4_sb_info struct but i am not very sure how to do this.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Quote Originally Posted by shwety1085 View Post

actually i am trying to separately store the metadata and the data and for doing that i have created an img file and formatted this partition with ext4. I need to store this partitions information in the ext4_sb_info struct but i am not very sure how to do this.
    Metadata --which one? are you referring to inode table or inode/block bitmaps?