Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm a super beginner when it comes to writing kernel drivers, but I'm trying to put a very simple one together for a single board computer that has a digital ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Calling interrupt from device driver

I'm a super beginner when it comes to writing kernel drivers, but I'm trying to put a very simple one together for a single board computer that has a digital I/O header on the motherboard. I basically want to be able to echo -n '2' > /dev/dio and have the 4 output pins on the header set to 0010.

Talking with the manufacturer, this can be accomplished via:

Code:
    mov %0x0609,%ax
    mov <bits>, %bl
    int 15h
    So, accordingly, I've got a driver with a write function:

Code:
    static char val;
    ssize_t dio_write(struct file *filp, const char *buf, size_t count, loff_t *f_pos) {
      if (count == 0) { return 0; }

val = (buf[0]-48) & 0x3; // Map ASCII 0 to numeric zero
      asm("movw $0x6F09,%%ax;"
          "movb %[val],%%bl;"
          "int  $0x15;"
          : 
          : [val] "r" (val)
          : "%ax", "%bl");
      return 1;
    }
    Which compiles and loads into the kernel fine, and I echo -n 0 > /dev/dio and... my kernel barfs and the machine locks.

Obviously I'm missing something, can someone lend a little help?

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.