Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm still kind of new to the linux kernel, but I am trying to port an application from VxWorks to Linux. The application interfaces with hotpluggable CompactPCI peripheral cards. The ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

PCI hotplug resource allocation problem

I'm still kind of new to the linux kernel, but I am trying to port an application from VxWorks to Linux. The application interfaces with hotpluggable CompactPCI peripheral cards. The problem I am encountering is with resoruce allocation at the time of hot insertion when no resources had previously been set up by the BIOS.

But first, some background and details:
    The system controller that is running linux is the ADLINK cPCI6910 using a PLX6540 PCI-to-PCI bridge as the bridge to the compactPCI bus. I use this as the example here but the app/driver will need to work on other boards as well. The compactPCI bus itself is divided into two segments. The first segment (bus 5 with the 6910) holds up to 3 periperal cards and the bridge to the second segment. The bridge between the segments is a Texas Instruments PCI2050 PCI-to-PCI bridge. The second segment (bus 6) will hold up to 7 peripheral cards.

The peripheral device uses the PLX 9054 PCI chip which initializes with defaults. The (custom) driver handling the device shows up in dmesg as cdcdrv.

For reference, we made this work in VxWorks in a very manual fashion by reserving an address range in sysHwInit using sysMmuMapAdd and flag VM_STATE_FOR_PCI. After the app starts, that window is opened on all the bridges between bus 0 and the compactPCI bus, and then half of that range on the TI bridge between the two cPCI segments (so the peripherals on the upstream side of the TI bridge do not get configured with addresses which the bridge also has in its window). BAR registers are then set with nailup addresses in that range as cards are detected on a periodic bus poll.