Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, How do i add driver in kernel permanently?..I tried with insmod but after power off its gone. How will i do this?. Anyone knows plz reply.. Thanks...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to add driver in kernel permanently??

Hi,
    How do i add driver in kernel permanently?..I tried with insmod but after power off its gone. How will i do this?. Anyone knows plz reply..

Thanks

Just Joined!
    If you want to automatically load a module (with a driver) whenever your machine starts you should add that info to the config file under /etc. Depending on what software you're using you should look for /etc/conf.d/modules or /etc/modules.autoload/ or sth similar.

To "add driver in kernel permanently" rebuild your kernel (i think that's the only option, could be wrong)

Just Joined!
    First of all i want to tell you one thing that i am a newbie to this field. Can you give an example that how to add driver module in config file?

output of cd /etc
    ls

boa.conf inetd.conf ntp.conf
    default init.d pam.d
    dev.d inittab passwd
    dhcpc inputrc profile
    dhcpcdhcpcd-eth0.cache issue rc.d
    dhcpcdhcpcd-eth0.info issue.net resolv.conf
    fstab localtime rpc
    group mime.types samba
    host.conf modprobe.d services
    hosts motd shells
    hosts.equiv mtab udev
    hotplug network udhcpc
    hotplug.d nsswitch.conf yp.conf

Where should i add? If anyone knows plz help me to do it??

Thanks

Just Joined!
    Plz help me !!

oz
    forum.guy
    Hello

The best kernel howto that I've found and used in the past for building kernels was this one:

Digital Hermit - Kernel-Build-HOWTO

Note that I've not used it with the 3.x kernels so not sure how well it still applies.
    oz