Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi! I'm new to Linux kernel programming so I'll ask you for advice: I'm interested in networking, especially the development of layer 2 tunneling protocols such as FCoE, IBoE, and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Layer 2 network protocols development

Hi!

I'm new to Linux kernel programming so I'll ask you for advice: I'm interested in networking, especially the development of layer 2 tunneling protocols such as FCoE, IBoE, and many other protocols over Ethernet.

Could you recommend me books or some kind of guides from the net. I am wondering whether I need strong programming skills to do this, or just good knowledge of the kernel networking libraries and the structure of the protocols is enough.

Thank you very much. I am waiting for your answers.

Quote Originally Posted by v_metodiev View Post
    I'm new to Linux kernel programming so I'll ask you for advice: I'm interested in networking, especially the development of layer 2 tunneling protocols such as FCoE, IBoE, and many other protocols over Ethernet.

Could you recommend me books or some kind of guides from the net. I am wondering whether I need strong programming skills to do this, or just good knowledge of the kernel networking libraries and the structure of the protocols is enough.
    I can't recommend books because I mostly learn this sort of stuff by consulting with other people and by examining existing code.

I can tell you the following:

• When working with protocols, you need to deal with two parts: the control plane and the data plane (aka the forwarder). The techniques used for one may not necessarily work well for the other.