Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
can any one help me to solve this problem...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    9

    sudo: must be setuid root


    can any one help me to solve this problem

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,390
    Which problem?
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Irithori View Post
    Which problem?
    hi irithori ,
    i am try to install php in to my system using sudo apt-get install php5.
    but am getting this error"sudo: must be setuid root "

  4. #4
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,390
    Yes, it must have the s-bit set to operate.
    What is the output of this command?
    Code:
    ls -la $(which sudo)
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    9
    tiger@avench:~$ ls -la $(which sudo)
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root svn 156824 2011-09-12 00:36 /usr/bin/sudo

  6. #6
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,390
    Ok, someone manually changed the permission attributes on /usr/bin/sudo.
    This renders sudo useless.
    The question to you is now: Was it done on purpose or by accident?

    You would now need to login as root and install php5 and maybe reinstall the sudo package.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    9
    tiger@avench:~$ su root
    Password:
    su: Authentication failure
    irithori , am very complicate state

  8. #8
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,390
    So you do know the root password?
    logout and try to login as root.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    9
    when am switch on my computer am giving only password
    the username avench only

  10. #10
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,390
    Judging from this, your username is tiger and the host is called avench.
    Code:
    tiger@avench:~$
    But anyway.
    - Is this a server, a desktop or a laptop?
    - Are you physically at the machine? ie: Are you logging in remote or locally?
    - Can the machine be rebooted safely?
    - What linux distribution and version are you using?
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •