Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
hello! I am looking for an early Linux version that can be compiled on a 8086 machine. The idea is to adjust is for a project of mine. already tried: ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

first Linux for PC source code

hello!

I am looking for an early Linux version that can be compiled on a 8086 machine.
    The idea is to adjust is for a project of mine.
    already tried: * google: "linux source code" * google: "first linux for PC" * google: "first linux source code" > got me the original code written by linus torvalds but this is not what I needed * exploring kernel.org * and some other google queries.

Please help, I'm not a linux expert.

Hi and welcome

There is no kernel for 8086
    The earliest supported x86 cpu up to now is an i386
    ftp://ftp.kernel.org/pub/linux/kerne.../RELNOTES-0.01

..but starting with 3.8, i386 is dropped. An i486 is now the minimum
    git.kernel.org - linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux.git/commit
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

Just Joined!
    Check out the history of Linux. There is a fine summary at History of Linux - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Specifically, Linux was created after the 80386 was released and was designed to take advantage of features not found on earlier processors. So, there was never a version of Linux that would run on the 8086 processor.

Just Joined!
    What Irithori says is in part correct. But, as a non-Linux person you should understand almost all existing distros as used by millions do NOT have the 3.8 kernel. The 3.8 kernel is being introduced, and future distros may, in fact most will, use it. But, it is not yet in use by most Linux users.

>>An i486 is now the minimum

should be "distros using the latest kernel will have 486 as the minimum." Distros with older kernels will be available for a very long time.