Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have installed an evalution version of SUSE Enterprise Server 9 on a Virtual Machine. I copied the files vmlinuz and initrd to .old versions and then ran the command ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

SUSE Enterprise Server 9

I have installed an evalution version of SUSE Enterprise Server 9 on a Virtual Machine. I copied the files vmlinuz and initrd to .old versions and then ran the command rpm -Uvh kernel-bigsmp-2.6.5-7.111.5.i586.rpm having put the .rpm file in the /boot/ directory.
    This command appeared to have worked, so I restarted the Virtual Machine. On restart it just gave a blank screen. I reset the VM and this time selected the Failsafe boot option. The screen now states;

Uncompressing Linux... Ok, booting the kernel.

There is a flashing cursor but nothing else appears to be happening. In case the last paragraph hasn't made this abundantly clear - I'm very new to Linux - so I may have made an elementary mistake . Can anyone shed any light on what I may have done wrong? Is there any way to return to the old kernel when I am unable to boot the virtual machine? I have left it attempting to boot up for 1/2 hour in case it was just slow to boot the first time.

Any help would be gratefully received.

Hammers

It looks like you didn't add the new kernel to your menu.lst file, and since you renamed your old kernel (which was the default) your bootloader doesn't know where to go.

I'm not sure about Enterprise 9, but in Suse you can boot from the install disk, select Installation, and then a moment or two later select to Boot an Installed System. Once you've booted, you can rename your vmlinuz, etc. to the proper names and boot normally again...then we can mess with getting you to boot from the new kernel you wanted.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

- Jeremy S. Anderson