Find the answer to your Linux question:
This is my first time compiling a kernel and it seemed to go very smoothly, but now my computer won't load using this kernel. The error I get is: Code: ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Enthusiast

Problem loading with newly compiled kernel

This is my first time compiling a kernel and it seemed to go very smoothly, but now my computer won't load using this kernel. The error I get is:
    Code:
    VFS: Cannot open root device "ram0" or unknown-block(0,0)
    Please append a correct "root=" boot option
    Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)
    I think it has to do with my grub.conf, but I copied the other kernel's info and adjusted the file names (image file and kernel) for my new kernel. I think that's what I was supposed to do. When I try loading the system with the new kernel it'll load a lot of devices and show a lot of text on the screen, but stop and show the above error message.

Can someone please help me with this?

Linux Enthusiast
    I think I found the solution (about 10 threads down)

I searched but didn't come up with anything, but ran into it by accident.

Linux Enthusiast

bump! different problem now :(

I have another problem now...can someone please help me with this? Here's the error message:
    Code:
    Creating block devices
    failed to create /dev/hda
    failed to create /dev/hda1
    failed to create /dev/hda2
    failed to create /dev/hda3
    Creating root device
    mkrootdev: mkroot failed: 30
    Mounting root filesystem
    mount: error 2 mounting reiserfs
    pivotroot: pivot-root (/sysroot, /sysroot/iniitrd) failed: 2
    umount /initrd/proc failed: 2
    Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!
    Please help...this is driving me crazy.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!