Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
Hi! I have search on google for NVIDIA_kernel-0.9-6.rh62.i386.rpm and it say only how to install it no ftp where I can download it... So plz can you tell me where ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6

    Where can I download the nvidia kernel ?


    Hi!
    I have search on google for NVIDIA_kernel-0.9-6.rh62.i386.rpm and it say only how to install it no ftp where I can download it...

    So plz can you tell me where I can download the newest nvidia kernel.

    I am usning RedHat Federo core 4... and my grapich card is Geforce 4 440 mx...
    And I downloaded the AI32 driver named NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-7667-pkg1.run
    I think I can Install the nvidia driver self but I need the kernel to it so plz....


    Thx
    //Crosser

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    6,110
    The nvidia driver is a kernel module which provides for both chipset and graphics cards AFAIK. As it is a kernel module it can and often is compiled into the kernel, I would guess this is what is being suggested. If you install the nvidia driver (ending in .run) you should have all you need. It is probably a better idea to keep it as a module either way.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6
    OK , But how do I install the driver then?

    I tryed to install the newest nvidia drivers...
    I shutdown the X-server
    Logged in as root
    And went to the directory there my Nvidiadriver is...
    and wrote
    sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-7667-pkg1.run

    And it didn`t work
    It stay: No kernel source

    Plz I dont want to give up the hope for linux...
    after almost 2 weeks it starting to feel abit angry

    Sry for my bad english... :P
    //Crosser

  4. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    As I mention in my short Nvidia tutorial, you'll need to have your kernel sources installed along with gcc and make. Fedora Core doesn't ship with the sources for some reason, but they can be added manually. What version of Fedora Core are you using? Here's a tutorial site for the newest, Fedora Core 4:

    http://www.fedorafaq.org/
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6
    ok thx for the help...
    But the first step it stop :P

    1. Make sure you have the kernel-sources, gcc and make packages installed
    How do I know if I have the kernel-sources, gcc and the packages installed?

    //Crosser

    Thx for reply

  6. #6
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosser
    ok thx for the help...
    But the first step it stop :P

    1. Make sure you have the kernel-sources, gcc and make packages installed
    How do I know if I have the kernel-sources, gcc and the packages installed?
    Well, you know for a fact that the kernel sources aren't installed because of the error message you posted earlier. You can tell if you have gcc installed by opening up a console and typing gcc then enter. If something pops up showing you how to use the command, it's installed. The same goes for make.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    2

    same problem

    I go out of GUI mode, init 3 and all that. logged in as root, ran the installer, but then it says i need the kernel, everywhere ive gone everyone says, "Make sure you have the kernel installed!" noone ever says how to get it, where to get it. If anyone feels like saying where it actually is or how ot get it, feel free to say =/.

  8. #8
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496

    Re: same problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Selbon
    I go out of GUI mode, init 3 and all that. logged in as root, ran the installer, but then it says i need the kernel, everywhere ive gone everyone says, "Make sure you have the kernel installed!" noone ever says how to get it, where to get it. If anyone feels like saying where it actually is or how ot get it, feel free to say =/.
    As I said in the thread above, you can install the kernel sources using the tutorial here:

    http://www.fedorafaq.org/
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    63
    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosser
    ok thx for the help...
    But the first step it stop :P

    1. Make sure you have the kernel-sources, gcc and make packages installed
    How do I know if I have the kernel-sources, gcc and the packages installed?
    Well, you know for a fact that the kernel sources aren't installed because of the error message you posted earlier. You can tell if you have gcc installed by opening up a console and typing gcc then enter. If something pops up showing you how to use the command, it's installed. The same goes for make.
    thats odd cause when i type in gcc then press enter it just says
    Code:
    gcc: no input files

    so i've must of installed the wrong gcc....again....

  10. #10
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    522
    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous1c4
    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosser
    ok thx for the help...
    But the first step it stop :P

    1. Make sure you have the kernel-sources, gcc and make packages installed
    How do I know if I have the kernel-sources, gcc and the packages installed?
    Well, you know for a fact that the kernel sources aren't installed because of the error message you posted earlier. You can tell if you have gcc installed by opening up a console and typing gcc then enter. If something pops up showing you how to use the command, it's installed. The same goes for make.
    thats odd cause when i type in gcc then press enter it just says
    Code:
    gcc: no input files

    so i've must of installed the wrong gcc....again....
    type gcc --version to see what you have
    type man gcc for help with gcc

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •