Find the answer to your Linux question:
I recently compiled 2.6.13.2 on my system, an old Duron 750Mhz 1GB RAM, 60G HD, 1 Burner, 1 Floppy, 2 USB, 16MB Voodoo3 Video, 22" monitor, 3com Etherlink III NIC....and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Kernel 2.6.13.2 - Doesn't Recognize Logitech!

I recently compiled 2.6.13.2 on my system, an old Duron 750Mhz 1GB RAM, 60G HD, 1 Burner, 1 Floppy, 2 USB, 16MB Voodoo3 Video, 22" monitor, 3com Etherlink III NIC....and of all the things to not work...it didn't properly recognize my logitec ps/2 trackball. This is my first time compiling a kernel and I'm not real comfortable with what I've done here...how might I go about things differently to ensure that my mouse will work? Kernel options? Modules? Conf Files?

Also, I use a mobile Hard Drive which I bring to school and run on the HPs there...the 2.4.29 kernel works great with the NetXtreme Gigabit NIC there, but when I boot 2.6.13.2, it doesn't recognize it at all. I think this is the same issue as above, although I could have sworn I was quite specific about selecting the option to compile drivers for the NetXtreme card into the kernel, because I distinctly remember being surprised to find them to be available as part of the kernel options.

Is there an option for Logitec PS/2 Trackballs as well that I've missed? Any help would be greatly appreciated, I'm anxious to take the new kernel for a spin while it actually agrees with my hardware...and no I like my weird mouse very much, I don't want to buy a new one. Thanks in advance for any advice!

if the 2.4 kernel worked fine i can't see a reason to upgrade to 2.6. what X server are you running? X.org, XFree86? maybe you didn't configure support in for trackballs into the kernel.
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows:
    Package Managers! Apt-Get and Portage (among others) allow users to install programs MUCH easier than Windows can.