Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
i upgrade my kernel from 2.4.32 to 2.6.15, but when i reboot the kernel, it hang until .. root (hd0,0) Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83 kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.15 root=/de ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    8

    kernel hang at boot time


    i upgrade my kernel from 2.4.32 to 2.6.15, but when i reboot the kernel, it hang until ..
    root (hd0,0)
    Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.15 root=/de
    [Linux-bzImage, setup=0x1400, size=0xd5272]


    what's wrong with that...

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The Hot Humid South
    Posts
    602
    Well, my first guess would be that your "root=" parameter is out of wack! Assuming your root partition is on hda1, since you're calling saying root is hd0,0, it should say something like root=/dev/hda1.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    8
    is it bcause of that? mm.. i tried to boot using old kernel, the root also like that..can work..
    never mind, i try to do it...thnks..

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144
    what does your

    /mount/boot/menu.lst or grub.conf contain.


    I would try reinstalling grub to:
    as root
    Code:
    grub
    root (hd0,0)
    setup (hd0)
    quit

    WARNING: This will overwrite you mbr so don't do this if you have other distros or OS's installed without careful thought.
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144
    just so everybody knows

    the root (hd0,0) in grub actually refers to where /boot resides? If this is also where / resides then fine but it doesn't mean root in the literal since it means boot.

    for example i have /boot on hda2 / on hda6
    so my grub is

    root (hd0,1)
    kernel /boot/kundera root=/dev/hda6 ro

    but if I didn't have a seperate partition for /boot then it would be

    root (hd0,5)
    kernel /boot/kundera root=/dev/hda6
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    8
    this in my grub.conf

    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
    # all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
    # root (hd0,1)
    # kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hda3
    # initrd /initrd-version.img
    #boot=/dev/hda
    default=1
    timeout=10
    splashimage=(hd0,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    title Fedora Core (2.6.15)
    root (hd0,1)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.15 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
    initrd /initrd-2.6.15.img
    title Fedora Core (2.6.5-1.35
    root (hd0,1)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.5-1.358 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
    initrd /initrd-2.6.5-1.358.img
    title Fedora Core (2.4.31)
    root (hd0,1)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.31 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
    initrd /initrd-2.4.31.img
    title Other
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1
    (END)

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144
    I don't understand why there is so many entries but it looks like your problem is in grub.conf/ menu.lst your root is listed as:

    root (hd0,1) when if you use root (hd0,0) at the grub prompt it works. So just change the entries to the 0 0 format.

    one question though. Does your windows entry work?

    And maybe i'm confused from your original post but my impression was that grub hangs untill you tell it the location of root (hd0,0) and then it boots up for you. If this is wrong then please explain further the error you are getting and also list things like

    /etc/fstab
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    8
    opss.. sorry, i post wrong grub.conf file..this is the one. actually i did cross compile, all put all libraries inside another machine..timeout 5
    #default saved
    foreground = 16064e
    background = ffffff
    serial --unit=0 --speed=57600 --word=8 --parity=no --stop=1
    terminal --timeout=1 serial console
    #splashimage (hd0,0)/grub/ipcop.xpm.gz
    title IPCop
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/hda4 panic=10 acpi=off ro console=tty0 console=ttyS0,57600n8
    # savedefault
    title IPCop SMP
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-smp root=/dev/hda4 panic=10 acpi=off ro
    #savedefault
    title IPCop (ACPI enabled)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/hda4 panic=10 ro
    # savedefault
    title IPCop SMP (ACPI HT enabled)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-smp root=/dev/hda4 panic=10 acpi=ht ro
    #savedefault

    title IPCop(2.4.31)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.31 root=/dev/hda4 panic=10 acpi=off ro console=tty0 console=ttyS0,57600

    my old kernel was 2.4.31, then i upgraded into 2.6.15, it hang like i said before..it stop until..

    root (hd0,0)
    Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.15 root=/de
    [Linux-bzImage, setup=0x1400, size=0xd5272]

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144
    so this is your current entry

    title IPCop(2.4.31)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.31 root=/dev/hda4 panic=10 acpi=off ro console=tty0 console=ttyS0,57600
    and it works when you use vmlinux-2.6.15 ??????

    if so then just change your entry to the 2.6.15 kernel instead tof the 2.4.31 kernel.
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    8
    kernel 2.4.31 is my old kernel. i put inside the grub.conf file, so next time when i reboot, i can choose desired kernel.. but for a meantime, i boot with kernel 2.6.15 (by default it reads from System.map-System.map-2.6.51 in /boot/), which is this one in grub.conf..

    title IPCop
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/hda4 panic=10 acpi=off ro console=tty0 console=ttyS0,57600n8

    i'm sorry. i dont know how to explain it in a proper english...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •