Find the answer to your Linux question:
I recently installed Ubuntu on a dual core pentium D, with intel's 64-bit technology, which i think is the same general thing as AMD's, and 2 gig of ram. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dual-Core-64-bit kernel for Pentuim D-should I Upgrade?

I recently installed Ubuntu on a dual core pentium D, with intel's 64-bit technology, which i think is the same general thing as AMD's, and 2 gig of ram. I am new to linux, and really have not started to use the command line much. So I have a few questions before I just go install a kerel

1. I was wondering which kernel to upgrade to, there are some in the package manager, and if I needed to do anything besides check off install and click apply.

2. Are there many open-source programs that take advantage of either dual core or 64-bit, even if they are something that the average user would not use( I like to have cutting-edge programs, even if I have no need for them...)

3. If there are not any programs that use these features, could just recompile them, with out editing the source(I have no programming experience), to use these features.( I am pretty sure that to make a program 64-bit, a person would have to edit a good bit of code to make it take advantage of the ?larger number capacity?, but I am not sure what it would take to make a program use dual-cores)

4. Any backwards compatibility issues with 32-bit programs ( I have read articles that suggest not, but that I would have to have a 32-bit music program to play music that was created with a 32-bit program)

I would like to have the fastest kernel for my computer, which ever one that is, and I was surprised to learn that Ubuntu did not detect what kernel I needed, but intead gave me a 386 kernel...but is the 64-bit kernel actually faster?......

Thanks-LinuxUser254

Just Joined!
    I'm no expert, but I'll try to answer your questions;