Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
hai, iam new to kernel programming and iam very interested to learn this.. iam using linux fedora core -2 , (kernel 2.6) i wrote a small hello world prog module ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    107

    kernel module loading


    hai,
    iam new to kernel programming and iam very interested to learn this..


    iam using linux fedora core -2 , (kernel 2.6)

    i wrote a small hello world prog module and iam trying to insert the module

    iam getting the error related to printk function while compilation..

    can anybody help me in this regard/ atleast give some details where i can found the required material for how to means procedure steps from starting to loading the module into the kernel.

    Thanx in Advance

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    631
    What errors? On what line?

    Regards

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    107

    module loading problem

    while iam compiling the program ,iam getting the error called "implicit declaration of printk"..

    In my system
    1.Linux Fedora care -2
    Kernel 2.6
    arch-i386

    Can u tell me why it gives that error and also give some material where i can found the procedure steps to follow to build the module and insertion

    Pls help me..

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    631
    Here's a kernel modules programming guide:

    http://tldp.org/LDP/lkmpg/2.6/html/index.html

    Regards

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    107

    kernel commands

    thanx sir,

    i got some information thru ur given material, but when iam doing practicle like loading a module iam getting some errors.

    when iam using some commands like ( modinfo, insmod,lsmod) at my shell.
    it shows me command was not found. why it is like that.

    Is there any problem while i was installing the linux , leaving some features.

    if so, pls give me some hints to do.....

    Once again thanx..

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by mallik
    when iam using some commands like ( modinfo, insmod,lsmod) at my shell.
    it shows me command was not found. why it is like that.
    you must be 'root' to execute these commands. type 'su -' in shell to get 'root' privileges.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    107

    commands not working at my shell

    hai everybody,

    Even i tried at /sbin path also, (lsmod, modinfo,ismod) these commands are not working..

    with super user privilizes also , these r not working..

    Can anybody help me..

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    type 'mod' in terminal and hit 'Tab' key twice. does it show 'modinfo' command in list? check other commands too. in case, it doesn't show commands, install module utilities.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    631
    You must install modutils.

    Regards

  10. #10
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    631
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    in case, it doesn't show commands, install module utilities.
    Sorry devils_casper, I need new glasses

    Regards

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •