Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello! I'm really new to all these things so please be patient with me. Here is the thing: I work on some embedded device with Linux on it. I loaded ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

help: using loaded modules

Hello!

I'm really new to all these things so please be patient with me. Here is the thing: I work on some embedded device with Linux on it. I loaded some module (LED driver) with insmod and I can see new symbols loaded into kernel symbol table with cat /proc/ksyms. I can also see new entry in /proc/devices and /proc/ioports. Now I can use this device if I make char device with mknod and use the device trough ioctl commands.

I don't want to use the driver this way because driver also exports some functions into kernel symbol table. Problem is, I don't know how to use the code this way. If I use this exported functions in my simple application, I get undefined references when the linker tries to make the executable. That is logical of course. So, how can I use functions loaded into kernel symbol table? Is there some kind of define, way to compile the application?

Regards,
    Rostfrei

Quote Originally Posted by rostfrei
    If I use this exported functions in my simple application,
    In which application?

Best Regards

This is header of the LED driver

Code:
    #ifndef led_H
    #define led_H

#ifdef __KERNEL__
    /* Function Prototypes */
    extern u32	led_off		(u32 indexLED);
    extern u32	led_on		(u32 indexLED);
    extern u8	led_eth_ctrl	(int eth_port, u8 ethleds);
    #endif

/* IOCTLs */
    #define LED_ON		_IOW('T', 1, unsigned int)
    #define LED_OFF		_IOW('T', 2, unsigned int)
    #define LED_ETH_PC	_IOW('T', 3, unsigned char)
    #define LED_ETH_LAN	_IOW('T', 4, unsigned char)

#endif /* led_H */

I can successfully use it in my mini test app

Code:
    #include "led.h"
    #include <sys/ioctl.h>

int main(void){
      long f = 0;