Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to linux kernel configuration. I was trying to configure and compile a new kernel 2.4.20. I followed the steps to reconfigure the kernel and the new kernel ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy Problem in in booting up new recompiled kernel 2.4

I am new to linux kernel configuration. I was trying to configure and compile a new kernel 2.4.20. I followed the steps to reconfigure the kernel and the new kernel got compiled successfully. At boot time I could see my new kernel . All went right except when it comes to log in page. My keyboard and mouse were not responding. I could see the cursor blinking at the username space, but nothing was happening when I was giving input through keyboard or mouse.
    I am writing the steps that I did to configure and compile the new kernel 2.4.20.

I am having Red Hat 9 kernel 2.4.20.
    1)make clean.
    2)make mrproper.
    3)make menuconfig.( Made no changes but saved the setting as new configuration).
    4)make dep.
    5)Changed EXTRAVERSION
    6)make bzImage.
    7)make modules.
    make modules_install
    9)make install.

I saw the grub.conf was showing my new kernel.
    there were modules related to my new kernel at /lib/modules directory.

I am not getting where I am wrong. Please help me regarding above problem.
    Thanks

Just Joined!
    I am new to this, but have you autoloaded any modules? Maybe you haven't autoloaded a module necessary for keyboard support at startup.

2)make mrproper.
    It usually deletes the .config file but I believe it makes a backup
    3)make menuconfig
    If the configuration file is gone, you should select at least some options
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940