Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello! I'm really not a Linux expert and I'm not using it on day to day basic. At work I'm working on embedded device running Linux. Platform: MIPS32, 4MB Flash, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Redirecting stdout, stderr to pty0?

Hello!

I'm really not a Linux expert and I'm not using it on day to day basic. At work I'm working on embedded device running Linux.

Platform:
    MIPS32, 4MB Flash, 16MB Ram
    bootloader: uBoot
    BusyBox 1.1.3

We are connecting to the box via serial port RS-232 cable. I was assigned to write driver for the add-on module which also connects to the embedded device via serial port. Problem is we don't have 2 serial ports on the embedded device, but just one. It's not a problem because I installed telnet daemon and now I'm connecting to the device from the PC by telnet and port is free to be used by add-on module. Problem is that while developing device driver I use a lot of printk function and these printouts go to the serial console!

Can somebody tell me or direct me on how to redirect kernel printouts to the /pts device? I know that pts device is created until new telnet client connects, but would it be possible to compile Linux kernel in such a way that while /dev/pts/0 device is not present all printouts should go to the /dev/null device and if /dev/pts/0 is present, printouts are redirected to the /dev/pts/0 device.

As a matter of fact where do I select where do Linux kernel default stdout, stderr streams go?

Thanks a lot for all the help you can give me.

Best regards,

I have no clue, only a hint.

I think, by default the printk go into the proc file system and before that is an internal buffer that is configurable, too.

But I guess you have already some debug software that redirects this output to the serial port, because that is presumably not the default target, or?