Voters
9. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes.

1 11.11%
  • No.

7 77.78%
  • It's something to think about.

1 11.11%
What the Mainstream Needs From Linux by Jake G. neoarmor@yahoo.com May 22, 2004 Feel free to re-post this article. I am a computer professional, programming hobbyist, and recent Linux user. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

What the Mainstream Needs From Linux

What the Mainstream Needs From Linux
    by Jake G.
    neoarmor@yahoo.com
    May 22, 2004
    Feel free to re-post this article.

I am a computer professional, programming hobbyist, and recent Linux user. The reason I am writing this is that I believe that Linux is a superior operating system and should become ready for the mainstream. This needs to happen because the reason for competition (as opposed to the Windows monopoly) and peer review (open source) is that they produce superior products. After a few weeks using ASP Linux 9 and Gnome, I switched to RedHat 9 a few weeks ago and started using KDE. My experience has shown a few counter-intuitive areas of Linux in general that experienced Linux programmers may overlook due to knowledge and years of usage. The points below are important. Linux initiates and programmers may sneer at the following suggestions or consider them petty; many of these things can be configured--but that is part of the point. Linux must be configured out-of-box in a manner ready for the mainstream: For Linux to become mainstream, newbie-friendliness is crucial.

--Allow double-clicking zip etc. archive files - default ZIP assocation as ark or similar program
    --Make floppy usage easier (unmount floppy automatically?) - (why can't I click the icon, write to the disk, then take it out? Or open the icon, put the disk in, and refresh?) Sometimes, the disk won't even unmount ("device is busy") because the GUI is still trying to load image preview icons from it since the window is open.