Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, Have been trying to install 2.6.X kernel for some time now, without success. I am definitly a kernel "virgin", however, I have (for my sins) 5 years IBM ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

kernel newbie (state my appologies now)

Hello all,
    Have been trying to install 2.6.X kernel for some time now, without success. I am definitly a kernel "virgin", however, I have (for my sins) 5 years IBM AIX experience behind me so working from the command line is not a prob. I have ready through the "digitalhermit" version of the new KERNEL HOWTO, and read through many of the posts listed on this Forum, however, I am still not getting any further (doh). I have done the following.

1, Downloaded the src, 2.6.6.
    2, unpacked it and placed it in /usr/src/2.6.6.
    3, Ran make menuconfig to customize, accepting the offer to save the new settings upon exit
    4, Ran "make clean" (I think this removes any older configuration files, is this correct?)
    5, Ran make bZImage (why this file name, how does this relate to the existing kernel ?)
    6, make modules (I know that this compiles the items marked a modules when you run make menuconfig...... I...... think....... clarfication would be great.
    7, and this is where it all goes pear shaped (sorry for the phrase, means 'wrong').

I have no idea as to the relevance of the required files, system.map for example. I also have a file which tells the boot loader (initrd is it called?) where to get the kernel as I am using RAID. and what does device.map do ?

I guess I am looking for a "definitive guide to the kernel", however, after looking around there does not seem to be one.

any help would be greatly appreciated.

Please note, I would like to have two bootable kernels if poss......

system details.
    Kernel - 2.4-18-14
    Flavour - Redhat 8
    RAID - Highpoint (works OK now!!!)
    boot loader - GRUB