Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 50
I tried “modprobe xirc2ps_cs” and nothing happened. Just the cursor moved down. I typed “Ismod xirc2ps_cs”. It responded with “no command exist”....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #31
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    35

    I tried “modprobe xirc2ps_cs” and nothing happened. Just the cursor moved down. I typed “Ismod xirc2ps_cs”. It responded with “no command exist”.

  2. #32
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    If the cursor moved down, and you did not receive a "module not found" error, then it likely got inserted. Do:
    Code:
    lsmod
    and see if it's listed in the modules.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  3. #33
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    35
    I have typed “lsmod” and scrolled up and down, and I unfortunately I don’t see “xirc2ps_cs”. Maybe it is listed under a different name. The only ones listed that look similar are the 2 that I posted earlier in post #28. Sorry, I don’t know what else to tell you.

  4. #34
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    35
    I know my computer recognizes the card because I see a new icon in the bottom tray.

  5. #35
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Hi Jim, okay.... what does this icon look like? When you click on it, what does it do? Have you tried configuring your device through the DSL dial up utility? Are there any lights, flashing or otherwise on the device itself? Is the device listed when you do as su:
    Code:
    lspci
    ?
    EDIT: I'm not sure why you are not seeing xirc2ps_cs when doing lsmod after modprobe xirc2ps_cs. I'm in Ubuntu now which loaded the driver for me no problem and is seen when doing lsmod...
    Code:
    Module                  Size  Used by
    xirc2ps_cs             19980  0 
    pcmcia                 41388  1 xirc2ps_cs
    pcmcia_core            40980  2 xirc2ps_cs,pcmcia
    binfmt_misc            12936  1 
    ppdev                  10244  0 
    speedstep_lib           6404  0 
    cpufreq_powersave       2688  0 
    cpufreq_stats           7232  0 
    cpufreq_userspace       5280  0 
    cpufreq_ondemand        9612  0 
    cpufreq_conservative     8072  0 
    freq_table              5792  2 cpufreq_stats,cpufreq_ondemand
    video                  18060  0 
    container               5504  0 
    sbs                    19592  0 
    button                  8976  0 
    dock                   10656  0 
    ac                      6148  0 
    battery                11012  0 
    af_packet              24840  0 
    nls_iso8859_1           5120  1 
    nls_cp437               6784  1 
    vfat                   14080  1 
    fat                    54300  1 vfat
    parport_pc             37412  0 
    lp                     12580  0 
    parport                37448  3 ppdev,parport_pc,lp
    snd_hda_intel         263712  0 
    snd_pcm_oss            44672  0 
    snd_mixer_oss          17664  1 snd_pcm_oss
    snd_pcm                80388  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss
    snd_seq_dummy           4740  0 
    snd_seq_oss            33152  0 
    snd_seq_midi            9600  0 
    snd_rawmidi            25728  1 snd_seq_midi
    pcspkr                  4224  0 
    snd_seq_midi_event      8448  2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
    nvidia               6221648  34 
    snd_seq                53232  6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
    snd_timer              24324  2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
    psmouse                39952  0 
    serio_raw               8068  0 
    iTCO_wdt               11940  0 
    iTCO_vendor_support     4868  1 iTCO_wdt
    usblp                  15104  0 
    snd_seq_device          9228  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
    snd                    54660  9 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
    soundcore               8800  1 snd
    i2c_core               26112  1 nvidia
    snd_page_alloc         11400  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
    shpchp                 34580  0 
    pci_hotplug            32704  1 shpchp
    intel_agp              25620  0 
    agpgart                35016  2 nvidia,intel_agp
    ipv6                  273892  10 
    evdev                  11136  3 
    reiserfs              248704  2 
    sg                     36764  0 
    sd_mod                 30336  4 
    sr_mod                 17828  0 
    cdrom                  37536  1 sr_mod
    usbhid                 29536  0 
    hid                    28928  1 usbhid
    usb_storage            73024  0 
    ide_core              116804  1 usb_storage
    libusual               18448  1 usb_storage
    ahci                   23300  3 
    libata                125168  1 ahci
    scsi_mod              147084  5 sg,sd_mod,sr_mod,usb_storage,libata
    ehci_hcd               36492  0 
    uhci_hcd               26640  0 
    usbcore               138632  7 usblp,usbhid,usb_storage,libusual,ehci_hcd,uhci_hcd
    e1000                 126272  0 
    thermal                14344  0 
    processor              32072  1 thermal
    fan                     5764  0 
    fuse                   47124  1 
    apparmor               40728  0
    Last edited by Dapper Dan; 12-03-2007 at 01:00 PM.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  6. #36
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    35
    As far as the card device goes, as I look at, I see 2 phone jack slots and a smaller than normal size USB slot. I don’t see anything that has the appearance of being a light, although there are 4 tiny slots in a row that may have very tiny led’s inside. Not sure. The icon at the bottom of the tray is the 2 little monitors superimposed juxtapositon. Just like the other icon that appears when an Internet phone connection is made. The main difference is that there is a rex cross over this new icon. Signifying, I’m guessing, that the card is disabled. Not sure what you mean “configuring your device through the DSL dial up utility?” Got to go to work, later.

  7. #37
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Quote Originally Posted by jim simon View Post
    Not sure what you mean “configuring your device through the DSL dial up utility?”
    As posted earlier in the thread, look for pppdialer in your menu.

    EDIT: I've been fooling around with DSL on my wife's laptop. The two drivers you referred to earlier I believe are for the device's high speed ethernet. I have xirc2ps_cs loaded on her laptop on DSL. So I think the thing to do is boot up DSL WITHOUT the card inserted. Then once it's up and going, open a terminal as root and do:
    Code:
    modprobe xirc2ps_cs
    Then do:
    Code:
    lsmod
    to see if it shows. Also, make sure pcmcia_core and yenta_socket are there too. If they are, then insert the device. See if you can configure with pppdialer from there...
    Last edited by Dapper Dan; 12-03-2007 at 06:45 PM.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  8. #38
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    35
    Concerning the icon, if I move the cursor over the icon, it says, “local area connection 3 cable is unplugged”. If I right click the icon, it gives 2 options, “ change Windows firewall settings” which takes me to the option of turning the firewall on or off. I left it on. The other option says “open network connections” which takes me to a window entitled “Network connections”.


    I next booted DSL. I entered “lspci” and it showed 2 entries as follows:

    0000:02:0.0 Ethernet controller: Xircom cardbus Ethernet 10/100 (rev3)
    0000:02:0:1 Serial controller: Xircom cardbus Ethernet + 56K Modem

    Next I proceded to try to configure DSL. I clicked on “Getting started with DSL”. I clicked on “connecting to the net”. I came to a part that talked about a “method” and “nameserver” which I really didn’t understand. I also didn’t know what to put when it asked for “IP number”, so I just entered my ISP phone number. I had no problems with the rest of the required entries. I then tried to dialup by first entering “pon” in the “provider” block which I think I was instructed to do at some time earlier in the process. Then I clicked “dialup”. A window opened and said:

    Dec 3 20 :11:20 box syslog. Info syslogd started: busybox vi.2.2
    Dec 3 20 :11:20 box authpriv. Notice sudo: root. tty = ttypo; pwd = /ramdisk/home/dsl; and it goes on.

    I didn’t see any indication (icons blinking, etc) that the connection had been made.

    One simplistic question. Am I supposed to plug the telephone line into the Xircom card or leave it connected in the back of my laptop as I’ve always done in the past?

  9. #39
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    35
    I saw and read your post 37 after I had posted my post #38. I will hold off on your instructions in post 37 until I hear from you next time and if you still want me to execute your post 37 instructions after you have read my 38.

  10. #40
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    lspci shows the 56k modem side of the device is detected. Follow through with what I wrote in post 37 and see if it gets you closer. You will use the pppdialer to configure your modem connection. All that about ip and stuff are for high speed ethernet configuration. Yes, you need to unplug the 56k phone line from the back of the laptop and plug the line into the Xircom card. You can configure the card with the cd while in Windows and get connected that way too. In fact, you might want to connect via Windows first to make sure the card is functioning as it should. Then try getting it going in Linux.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •