Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
I have a Compaq Presario model 1200US with 316RAM, 800MHz Celeron. Using 56K modem connection. I’ve never used Linux before. I’m trying to install DSL that's supposed to be easy ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

56kmodem dial up setup problem

I have a Compaq Presario model 1200US with 316RAM, 800MHz Celeron. Using 56K modem connection. I’ve never used Linux before. I’m trying to install DSL that's supposed to be easy and can’t even do the dial-up setup config. I entered PAP, like was suggested. Then tried clicking “Dialup” and nothing happens. The “ppp dial manager” page has 14OCT date, time, root, pwd, user=root, and a bunch other stuff. It’s all greek to me. I tried entering my isp dial up setting user name. Again, no cigar. I don’t understand what it is they want?