Find the answer to your Linux question:
ok i am a complete noob to linux so i need some major help here please. I have knoppix 3.6 and i just booted about 10 mins ago, so im ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Thumbs up how do i install a dial up connection?

ok i am a complete noob to linux so i need some major help here please. I have knoppix 3.6 and i just booted about 10 mins ago, so im trying to set up a dial up connection and i dont know where to start. i have absolutely no clue whats going on, and im relatively young so detailes sound great. help is ungodly appreciated.

Knoppix should have in its menu a dialer called kppp. It's pretty straight forward and easy to configure. The problem you are most likely to have is whether you have a hardware device capable of working under Linux.

Some internal PCI modems will work, but the truth is, most won't. They are what we call "Winmodems" because they have to have a Windows operating system to do the work. Most external serial modems will work with Linux, and even some external USB modems will too. We need to find out what your device is. Assuming it is an internal pci device, open a terminal... "konsole" will do and type it:
    Code:
    lspci
    And press enter. It will throw up a lot of information. Find the information about your modem, copy it down and post it here. Then we can go from there.
    Last edited by Dapper Dan; 10-19-2007 at 01:49 AM.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

Just Joined!
    ok i went to command prompt and typed 1spci and it just gave me the message that it couldnt run the command just as if i had typed jkehruhgviuh..and while i was there i typed kppp and it brought up the command so i wnet to configure and then i went with the wizard for detecting modems and it only caught my ethernet port i think

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Quote Originally Posted by jake10 View Post