Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I am a novice at using knoppix. I am running it via CD. I have a windows pc that the hard drive has an unmountable boot volume error. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Help recovering data using jump drive

Hello,
    I am a novice at using knoppix. I am running it via CD. I have a windows pc that the hard drive has an unmountable boot volume error. I can see the contents of the hard drive using knoppix 4.0 but knoppix does not see my jumpdrive. I need to recover some large files from this hard drive and I have tried using an external usb hard drive, 3 different jump drives but I cannot find them to mount them so that I can move the data. Everything I can find says knoppix should recognize my jumpdrive.

Is there something I can do to manually locate and mount the jumpdrive? I am really confused here? Hoping someone can help.

Thanks
    Jen

Boot with Knoppix to a desktop. Plug in your usb drive. Then open a terminal and type the command: dmesg | tail -20

Post the results of that command here, and someone may be able to help you get it mounted (which means you'll be able to copy files to it using Knoppix).

hardware issues are likely resolved in later versions of knoppix if you can download a newer version (newest 5.1)

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!

Here are the results of dmesg | tail -20

knoppix@0[knoppix]$ dmesg | tail -20
    eth0: Tigon3 [partno(BCM5751PKFBG) rev 4001 PHY(5750)] (PCIX:100MHz:32-bit) 10/100/1000BaseT Ethernet 00:12:3f:c2:e9:5f
    eth0: RXcsums[1] LinkChgREG[1] MIirq[1] ASF[0] Split[0] WireSpeed[1] TSOcap[1]
    eth0: dma_rwctrl[76180000]
    ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:1e.2[A] -> GSI 23 (level, low) -> IRQ 23
    PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:1e.2 to 64
    intel8x0_measure_ac97_clock: measured 50230 usecs
    intel8x0: clocking to 48000
    NTFS driver 2.1.22 [Flags: R/W MODULE].