Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am new to Linux and this forum. This is my first post. I have a wireless LAN that I use to access the Internet with my PCs, all running ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy [SOLVED] Knoppix 5.01 Live CD

I am new to Linux and this forum. This is my first post.

I have a wireless LAN that I use to access the Internet with my PCs, all running Windows XP or Windows Vista. My desktop PC has a Safecom SWLUT - 54125 USB 802.11g wireless adaptor. My Acer Aspire 5610Z laptop has Atheros AR 5005G wireless adaptor.

I booted into Knoppix on my Desktop PC hoping to be able to get on the Internet. The wireless LAN was not detected. I then tried with the laptop. This time the LAN was detected (I entered my WEP key) but I could not download webpages in either Mozilla or Konquerer.

I experiement for a couple of hours without success. However when I tried the next day with my laptop the wireless LAN was not detected. I rebooted and tried a number of times. I am puzzled by this as the operating system is on a non writeable disk and I did not save any settings to any other disk.

I am really looking forward to getting to know Linux and very much hope someone can give me an answer to my problem.

The newest knoppix livecd is 5.1 maybe you mistyped that, but I thought I would clarify if not. I would recommend another livecd like Ubuntu instead since that is a much more recent release you will likely have much better luck getting your wireless to work.

Try Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon 7.10. It has much better Hardware support and latest packages.

Check distrowatch.com and try LiveCD of any distro listed in Top 10 Distros.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!

Live CD

That was a quick reply?

My live Knoppix is version 5.01.