Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hey guys, I am new to this board as of today because I am having a little problem. I am currently trying to run Knoppix off of a CD. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation Running Knoppix 5.1 of a CD (Problem)


    Hey guys,

    I am new to this board as of today because I am having a little problem. I am currently trying to run Knoppix off of a CD. I am working with a HP zv6000 with a 1.6 GHz, plty of RAM/ROM, ATI 200M graphics card.

    After messing around with it for a couple of hours now, I am still not having any luck at all. I have tried:

    1. boot: knoppix vga=0
    2. boot: knoppix acpi=off pnpbios=off noapic noapm
    3. boot: knoppix vga=0 debug -b 3

    It will try to "Looking for CD in: /dev/hdc" forever. It seems to be frozen. I cannot hit the esc key or anything.

    Any tips/advice?

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Welcome to the forums!

    Are you sure the downloaded ISO file was good and that it was properly burned to the disk as an image?

    You can follow this HowTo to make sure you burned it correctly. Maybe you could burn it at a slower speed.

    Do you have another machine that you can test the CD on?
    oz

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4
    Hi,

    There is a chance that my professor incorrectly burned the disk. However, 3 out of the 4 other students in my course (the other I dont talk to) have a working copy.

    I can try to run it on another computer to see what happens. I will let you know ASAP.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4
    Yeah, working on my roommates computer.

  5. #5
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Just guessing here, but you might try:

    Code:
    knoppix nodma
    oz

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4
    Your the man. Worked like a charm. Just out of curiosity, what does that command intell?

    Thanks a ton!

  7. #7
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    It instructs Knoppix not to use DMA (direct memory access) by default on your drives.
    oz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •