Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
My computer has stuffed up and I'm using a knoppix 5.1 boot cd to try and get some files off of it. the external hard drive i am trying to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    6

    Connecting a seagate external hard drive


    My computer has stuffed up and I'm using a knoppix 5.1 boot cd to try and get some files off of it.
    the external hard drive i am trying to connect is a seagate free agent drive 500gbs.
    knoppix doesn't seem to even be recognizing that it is connected.

    please help,
    thankyou

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    Plug-in External disk, open Konsole or Terminal and execute this
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    df -h
    Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    6

    This is what the shell konsole displayed

    knoppix@Knoppix:~$ sudo fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/hda: 40.0 GB, 40007761920 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4864 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 4863 39062016 7 HPFS/NTFS
    knoppix@Knoppix:~$ df -h
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/root 3.4M 22K 3.4M 1% /
    /ramdisk 396M 11M 386M 3% /ramdisk
    /UNIONFS 396M 11M 386M 3% /UNIONFS
    /dev/hdb 697M 697M 0 100% /cdrom
    /dev/cloop 2.0G 2.0G 0 100% /KNOPPIX

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    6
    I'm not sure why but now knoppix is picking my hard drive up.
    and its actually 250gig sorry. not sure if that makes a difference.
    but now the problem is i cant copy files onto it.

    using those commands you told me this is what comes up
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    knoppix@Knoppix:~$ sudo fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/hda: 40.0 GB, 40007761920 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4864 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 4863 39062016 7 HPFS/NTFS

    Disk /dev/sda: 250.0 GB, 250059350016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 30401 244196001 7 HPFS/NTFS
    knoppix@Knoppix:~$ df -h
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/root 3.4M 23K 3.4M 1% /
    /ramdisk 396M 19M 378M 5% /ramdisk
    /UNIONFS 396M 19M 378M 5% /UNIONFS
    /dev/hdb 697M 697M 0 100% /cdrom
    /dev/cloop 2.0G 2.0G 0 100% /KNOPPIX
    /dev/hda1 38G 30G 7.5G 80% /media/hda1
    /dev/sda1 233G 68G 166G 30% /media/sda1

  6. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    not sure if that makes a difference.
    but now the problem is i cant copy files onto it.
    Knoppix doesn't support NTFS read/write out of box. You have to install ntfs-3g package for that.
    If your machine has internet access then execute this
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install ntfs3g
    sudo umount /dev/sda1
    sudo mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /media/sda1 -o defaults,umask=0
    In case it doesn't work, try PartedMagic LiveCD. Its a Partition Manger, 30MB Size and ntfs-3g pre-installed.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    6
    Code:
    knoppix@Knoppix:~$ sudo apt-get install ntfs3g
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree... Done
    E: Couldn't find package ntfs3g
    knoppix@Knoppix:~$ sudo umount /dev/sda1
    knoppix@Knoppix:~$ sudo mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /media/sda1 -o
    defaults,umask=0
    Failed to mount '/dev/sda1': Operation not supported
    Mount is denied because NTFS is unclean. Choose one of these actio
    ns:
       Boot Windows and shutdown it cleanly, or if you have a removabl
    e
       device then click the 'Safely Remove Hardware' icon in the Wind
    ows
       taskbar notification area before disconnecting it.
    Or
       Run 'ntfsfix' on Linux unless you have Vista, then mount NTFS w
    ith
       the 'force' option read-write, or with the 'ro' option read-onl
    y.
    Or
       Mount the NTFS volume with the 'ro' option in read-only mode.
    knoppix@Knoppix:~$ ntfsfix
    ERROR: You must specify a device.
    ntfsfix v1.13.2-WIP (libntfs 10:0:0)
    
    Usage: ntfsfix [options] device
        Attempt to fix an NTFS partition.
    
        -h, --help             Display this help
        -V, --version          Display version information
    
    For example: ntfsfix /dev/hda6
    
    Developers' email address: linux-ntfs-dev@lists.sf.net
    Linux NTFS homepage: http://www.linux-ntfs.org
    knoppix@Knoppix:~$ ntfsfix /dev/sda1
    Mounting volume... FAILED
    Attempting to correct errors...
    Processing $MFT and $MFTMirr...
    Reading $MFT... OK
    Reading $MFTMirr... OK
    Comparing $MFTMirr to $MFT... OK
    Processing of $MFT and $MFTMirr completed successfully.
    Setting required flags on partition... OK
    Going to empty the journal ($LogFile)... OK
    NTFS volume version is 3.1.
    NTFS partition /dev/sda1 was processed successfully.
    I still cant copy anything to it and the error im getting is
    Could not make folder /media/sda1/Assignments.
    I'm downloading parted magic now so i guess I'll see how that goes...

  8. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /media/sda1
    sudo mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /media/sda1 -o defaults,umask=0,force
    ls /media/sda1
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    6
    Yay!

    I eventually managed to fix it all up on sunday afternoon and i got all the files off it i wanted.
    I also want to turn this machine I'm on now into a linux machine once i get my new computer. What distro (i think that's what you call them) would you recommend?
    And how should i go about learning some of the linux konsole stuff?

    Thank you for your help devils casper

  10. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Glad to help you !!

    I also want to turn this machine I'm on now into a linux machine once i get my new computer. What distro (i think that's what you call them) would you recommend?
    Post your machine's specs here. RAM, HardDisk size, Graphics Card and Processor.
    Check the link in my Signature too. It will get you going.

    And how should i go about learning some of the linux konsole stuff?
    Check linuxcommand.org.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    6
    My computer is a dell inspiron 2200
    and its specs are :
    1.4ghz intel celeron M processer
    256MB RAM
    40Gig hard drive
    and an internal 128MB intel 915GM/GMS, 910GML express chipset video card.

    From what I've heard Ubuntu would be a good place to start?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •