Find the answer to your Linux question:
heya, i'm brand new to knoppix (about 2 hours new XD) i have knopix installed on my laptop, now how do i change the boot sequence so that cd boots ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to boot from disk?

heya, i'm brand new to knoppix (about 2 hours new XD)

i have knopix installed on my laptop, now how do i change the boot sequence so that cd boots first? (i have a knoppix disk, a program, which needs to be booted from disk, but i cant figure out how to do it)

also if you could list it in a step by step, or picture guide that'd be great

its knopix 5.1 in case you need to know

thanks!

Hi, TrueDoom! Welcome to LinuxForums!

First thing you need to do is get into your BIOS during boot-up and change the order in which your PC looks for boot media. You should be able to get there by pressing F2 or F10 during start-up.
    Jay

New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Just Joined!
    hey....am i dont think it will work like that for me unfortunatley.

see i'm running knoppix on a pendrive (e.g its not an installed os, its just running off pendrive, in a new window, through windows xp.) as shown here (Run Knoppix from a USB device without rebooting | USB Pen Drive Linux)

but heres how it works, i have xp up and running, and on my usb drive, there is knoppix, with the added software that lets me boot koppix in a window. heres a screen shot:

first screen:

http://img50.imageshack.us/img50/283...tscreendt6.jpg

Screen when f2 or is pressed:

http://img388.imageshack.us/img388/3...3screenrm8.jpg

screen after full boot up:

http://img380.imageshack.us/img380/4...pixdeskwt9.jpg