Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
I posted this thread last month: http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/kno...-question.html To sum it up, my old hard drive crashed and I'd been trying to recover the data using Knoppix. My computer had some ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    13

    "WARNING: Dirty volume mount was forced by the "force" mount option" & other problems


    I posted this thread last month:

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/kno...-question.html

    To sum it up, my old hard drive crashed and I'd been trying to recover the data using Knoppix. My computer had some problems booting it with my old hard drive for various reasons, but that doesn't matter now. I decided I'd have to to buy a USB Hard Drive enclosure to put my old drive in and try it that way.

    Today I received my USB Hard Drive Enclosure. I tried it and it detected the disk, yet when mounting it came up with this:

    "WARNING: Dirty volume mount was forced by the "force" mount option"
    I clicked ok and started looking around my hard drive and everything was there. I copied some files from my old hard drive to my new one, and they transferred fine. They work perfectly too, they're not corrupted. So I've got hope that my disk isn't really broken, it's just.. a little messed up haha.

    My main problem is how erratic it is. If I try transferring a folder with a lot of files in, it comes up with "Stalled". I got the same "Stalled" message when I tried entering a folder that had around 400 folders and about 40gb of data in. After this stalling happens it's very hard to get the drive to come up again. I usually click it and then have to wait a couple of minutes for it to come up. Often when it does come up it won't let me transfer files at all. I usually have to restart to get it working again, which is really annoying.

    I ran a process that I can't remember, maybe Testdisk? And this came up:

    The number of cylinders for this disk is set to 4462 (Note that this isn't my amount of cylinders, I copied the error off of Google, as I forgot it and didn't write it down initially).
    There is nothing wrong with that, but this is larger than 1024,
    and could in certain setups cause problems with:
    1) software that runs at boot time (e.g., old versions of LILO)
    2) booting and partitioning software from other OSs
    (e.g., DOS FDISK, OS/2 FDISK)
    I thought it might be significant.

    That's the jist of the problems, can anyone offer any advice?

    Thanks a lot

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    I'd say copy all the data you can before starting to play with partition structures. More than 1024 cylinders will not necessarily cause you a problem and I doubt it is responsible for your current issues.

    You may have more luck with cli rather than gui (if you have been using a gui) ... you should be able to
    Code:
    ls
    the root of the the hard drive and then
    Code:
    cp -a
    each folder one at a time. Run
    Code:
    man cp
    and make sure you don't get source and destination folders mixed up!

    Once you have data copied to another drive then you can play with partition structures etc. We have not seen the output of
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    yet so we don't know partition structure ... but backup data then fix the problem is usually a good plan

    If you need further help on cp after you read the man page ... post the output of
    Code:
    mount
    fdisk -l

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    13
    I'm unsure on how to run the commands. My current hard drive = hda1, and my old hard drive = sda1. So, would I do this:

    ls /dev/sda1

    After that I'm unsure how I'd run these commands:

    cp -a

    man cp

    I appreciate the reply Jonathan, thanks for your help.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    OK ... first run fdisk -l to check what partitions are on each drive ... example output ...
    Code:
    bash-3.2# fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x199c199b
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *           1         894     7181023+  27  Unknown
    /dev/sda2             895        2807    15366172+   7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3            4031       14593    84847297+   5  Extended
    /dev/sda4            2808        4030     9823747+  83  Linux
    /dev/sda5            4031        4158     1028128+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda6            4159        6078    15422368+  83  Linux
    /dev/sda7            6079        7353    10241406   83  Linux
    /dev/sda8            7354        8182     6658911   83  Linux
    /dev/sda9            8183        9712    12289693+  83  Linux
    /dev/sda10           9713       11244    12305758+  83  Linux
    /dev/sda11          11245       12006     6120733+  83  Linux
    /dev/sda12          12007       14593    20780046   83  Linux
    
    Partition table entries are not in disk order
    bash-3.2#
    Then run mount to check where the partitions are mounted to ... example output ...
    Code:
    bash-3.2# mount
    /dev/sda10 on / type ext3 (rw)
    none on /dev type ramfs (rw)
    none on /proc type proc (rw)
    none on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
    none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
    none on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,busgid=108,busmode=0775,devgid=108,devmode=0664)
    bash-3.2#
    Lets say I want to mount sda6 to /fred-will-do, first create folder /fred-will-do using
    Code:
    mkdir /fred-will-do
    next mount sda6 to fred-will-do using
    Code:
    mount /dev/sda6 /fred-will-do
    now if I run mount again I get
    Code:
    bash-3.2# mount
    /dev/sda10 on / type ext3 (rw)
    none on /dev type ramfs (rw)
    none on /proc type proc (rw)
    none on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
    none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
    none on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,busgid=108,busmode=0775,devgid=108,devmode=0664)
    /dev/sda6 on /fred-will-do type ext3 (rw)
    bash-3.2#
    I can copy info from /testfolder1 on sda10 to sda6 using
    Code:
    cp -a /testfolder1 /fred-will-do
    then list contents in fred-will-do gives ...
    Code:
    bash-3.2# ls /fred-will-do
    bin   etc   lost+found  opt   sbin     sys          usr
    boot  home  media       proc  srv      testfolder1  var
    dev   lib   mnt         root  success  tmp          windows
    bash-3.2#
    Hopefully you get the idea from this ...
    If your still unsure post fdisk -l and mount outputs.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    13
    Firstly I tried fdisk:

    fdisk -l /dev/sda1

    Disk /dev/sda1: 320.0 GB, 320062063104 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38911 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    This doesn't look like a partition table
    Probably you selected the wrong device.

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1p1 ? 13578 119522 850995205 72 Unknown
    Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
    /dev/sda1p2 ? 45382 79243 271987362 74 Unknown
    Partition 2 does not end on cylinder boundary.
    /dev/sda1p3 ? 10499 10499 0 65 Novell Netware 386
    Partition 3 does not end on cylinder boundary.
    /dev/sda1p4 167628 167631 25817+ 0 Empty
    Partition 4 does not end on cylinder boundary.

    Partition table entries are not in disk order
    Then I ran mount:

    mount /dev/sda1
    Failed to mount '/dev/sda1': Operation not supported
    Mount is denied because NTFS is unclean. Choose one of these actio ns:
    Boot Windows and shutdown it cleanly, or if you have a removabl e
    device then click the 'Safely Remove Hardware' icon in the Wind ows
    taskbar notification area before disconnecting it.
    Or
    Run 'ntfsfix' on Linux unless you have Vista, then mount NTFS w ith
    the 'force' option read-write, or with the 'ro' option read-onl y.
    Or
    Mount the NTFS volume with the 'ro' option in read-only mode.
    So I tried doing the read only option and it said:

    mount ro /dev/sda1
    mount: only root can do that
    Same with the force option:

    mount force /dev/sda1
    mount: only root can do that
    I'm not sure if I did those right.

    Any ideas?

  7. #6
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    You should not be adding /dev/sda1 to the commands ... just do
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    mount
    and post the output. The first will list partition structure for all disks and the second will show if any partitions are mounted how they are mounted (read/write or read only etc) and where they are mounted to (/media/sda1 or /media/disk1 etc).

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    13
    knoppix@Knoppix:~$ fdisk -l
    knoppix@Knoppix:~$ mount
    /dev/root on / type ext2 (rw)
    /ramdisk on /ramdisk type tmpfs (rw,size=1659152k,mode=755)
    /UNIONFS on /UNIONFS type aufs (rw,br:/ramdisk:/KNOPPIX)
    /dev/hde on /cdrom type iso9660 (ro)
    /dev/cloop on /KNOPPIX type iso9660 (ro)
    /proc/bus/usb on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,devmode=0666)
    /dev/pts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
    /dev/hda1 on /media/hda1 type fuseblk (ro,nosuid,nodev,noatime,allow_other,blksize=4096)
    /dev/sda1 on /media/sda1 type fuseblk (ro,nosuid,nodev,noatime,allow_other,blksize=4096) p
    fdisk -l on it's own didn't seem to do anything. And mount looks wrong too?

  9. #8
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr K View Post
    fdisk -l on it's own didn't seem to do anything. And mount looks wrong too?
    You need root rights ... try
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    From the output of mount ...
    Code:
    /dev/hda1 on /media/hda1 type fuseblk (ro,nosuid,nodev,noatime,allow_other,blksize=4096)
    /dev/sda1 on /media/sda1 type fuseblk (ro,nosuid,nodev,noatime,allow_other,blksize=4096)
    You have sda1 mounted to /media/sda1 and hda1 mounted to /media/hda1. You can list the contents using ls ...
    Code:
    ls /media/sda1
    ls /media/hda1
    Both partitions are mounted read only ... indicated by the ro in the mount output.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    13
    Cool, sudo fdisk-l worked:

    Disk /dev/hda: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 121600 976751968+ 7 HPFS/NTFS

    Disk /dev/sda: 320.0 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 38912 312560608+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    After that I tried doing what you mentioned a couple of posts above:

    knoppix@Knoppix:~$ sudo mkdir /files2

    knoppix@Knoppix:~$ sudo mount /dev/hda1 /files2

    knoppix@Knoppix:~$ sudo mount
    /dev/root on / type ext2 (rw)
    /ramdisk on /ramdisk type tmpfs (rw,size=1659152k,mode=755)
    /UNIONFS on /UNIONFS type aufs (rw,br:/ramdisk:/KNOPPIX)
    /dev/hde on /cdrom type iso9660 (ro)
    /dev/cloop on /KNOPPIX type iso9660 (ro)
    /proc/bus/usb on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,devmode=0666)
    /dev/pts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
    /dev/sda1 on /media/sda1 type fuseblk (ro,nosuid,nodev,noatime,allow_other,blksize=4096)
    /dev/hda1 on /media/hda1 type fuseblk (rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,allow_other,blksize=4096)
    /dev/hda1 on /files2 type fuseblk (rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,allow_other,blksize=4096)
    It worked, but when I tried the next part I'm not sure what it did:

    knoppix@Knoppix:~$ cp -a /media/sda1/Albums /files2
    ls /files2
    blah
    what
    Then after a little while it whirred into life and the knoppix@Knoppix thing came back:

    knoppix@Knoppix:~$ ls /files2
    ^ That command just listed the contents of my hda1 drive. I guess I'm still doing something wrong, but I'm nearly there.

  11. #10
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,043
    Looks like your nearly there, just a few comments that should help ...
    1. sudo gains root rights for the command you are executing ... you need this for fdisk, mounting file systems and you may also need it when using cp ... but try it without first. More info on sudo given here.

    2. You have ntfs partitions you want to write to so you need to make sure you are using the ntfs-3g driver for that rather than using mount (which may use kernel ntfs feature). Example mount for ntfs-3g
    Code:
    sudo ntfs-3g /dev/hda1 /files2
    3. If you find using cp and ls do not work as a regular user then use sudo at the beginning of each command ... but be very carful what you type. If you can check what you are trying to do as a regular user first in the user home area. I quite often just type the command I want ... hit return and check I put things in the way I want then use the up arrow key to bring back the command and add sudo at the beginning

    4. I usually unmount the partition before remounting so in your case this means
    Code:
    sudo umount /dev/hda1
    sudo ntfs-3g /dev/hda1 /files2
    5. Example I want to copy information from /home/arch32/jonathan-user/Desktop to a folder I have made /home/arch32/jonathan-user/Desktop-copy1. To do this I create the folder
    Code:
    mkdir Desktop-copy1
    then copy the information
    Code:
    cp -a /home/arch32/jonathan-user/Desktop /home/arch32/jonathan-user/Desktop-copy1
    and list the folder contents after
    Code:
    [jonathan-user@desktop-pc ~]$ ls -R Desktop-copy1
    Desktop-copy1:
    Desktop
    
    Desktop-copy1/Desktop:
    Archive to DVD - read-only.desktop        dosbox instructions.desktop
    Home.desktop                              firefox.desktop
    Jonathan's stuff.desktop                  hplip.desktop
    KMail.desktop                             kscd.desktop
    System admin notes - Arch linux~.desktop  mplayer.desktop
    System.desktop                            trash.desktop
    Thunar.desktop
    [jonathan-user@desktop-pc ~]$
    The cp -a is required to copy the folder and contents and ls -R is required to list the folder and sub folder contents ... hope this helps

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •