Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I recently got a new cd of Knoppix ver 6.0.1 and have been able to boot non name brand systems. One system has an intel board and cpu. The other ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1

    Question Knoppix not booting


    I recently got a new cd of Knoppix ver 6.0.1 and have been able to boot non name brand systems. One system has an intel board and cpu. The other is an EMachine. I attempted to boot a Dell 5100 Desktop, a HP Laptop and a Sony Desktop to no avail. Is there something going on with name brand systems I should know about?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2

    Difficulty with HP

    I've also been having problems with this.
    I've been able to load the Live CD on a number of Dell Desktop PCs and an HP Laptop, but when I attempt to boot it on my HP Pavillion Desktop the boot process fails:
    When I start it on the PC, the boot process starts and I see the twin penguins and ...
    > Welcome to Knoppix 6 based on MICROKNOPPIX!
    >
    > Linux Kernel 2.6.28.4, 2486 MB RAM
    > CPU 0: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz @ 3000MHz, 1024 KB Cache
    > CPU 1: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz @ 3000MHz, 1024 KB Cache
    > Knoppix 6 found at: /dev/hda
    > >>> Starting in Live-Mode.
    > >>> Please do not remove medium until shutdown!
    >
    > Compressed KNOPPIX image is broken: /mnt-system/KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX on
    And the system halts at that point (on what?)

    I tried it again and this time:
    Below the warning about removing the disc, I saw ...
    > insmod: cannot insert '/mnt-system/KNOPPIX/modules/??fs.ko' : invalid module format (-1): Exec format error
    > could not mount /mnt-system/KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX. Starting debugging Shell...
    > sh: can't access tty: job control turned off
    > / #

    (?? - can't tell the two characters from the image on my phone!)
    Does anyone have an explanation - or a resolution, please?
    Echo

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    It looks like problem is in Knoppix CD only. Does same Knoppix CD work fine on other machines?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2

    Works fine with other PCs

    I can boot other machines OK with this CD. I have made several copies of the CD, but it makes no difference.
    Could it be that this type of PC is accessing a damaged part of the image, that none of the other PCs have needed to access/use?
    Echo

  6. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4,170
    Could be a faulty cdrom drive on the computer that won't boot up.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1
    I have this same problem. HP pavilion is the system giving me trouble, and the live CD works perfectly fine when I test it on the Dell laptops I have available to test it on.

    I do not believe it is the CD-rom drive, I suspect it is something odd about HP pavilions.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •