Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, I'm quite new with linux and have a generally low experience with computers, but I wanted to try out linux with knoppix (and leave windows intact) So I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

[SOLVED] Writing data on a 'linux' hard-disk-partitioning

Hello all,

I'm quite new with linux and have a generally low experience with computers, but I wanted to try out linux with knoppix (and leave windows intact)

So I created in linux a hard-disk partition using 'QTParted' using a ext3 partitioning.
    Afterwards this partitioning showed up on my desktop as sda3 (other 2 partitionings are windows using ntfs system)

But now the problem is that i can't write on this partition i designed to be used for linux-files (it's read-only)

To solve this i tried the following:
    -On the desktop i clicked 'right' on the icon of the sda3 partition, mounting it and using actions -> change read-write mode
    This seemed to work and asking for the properties gave me some info:
    Ownership: knoppix
    and i could make it writable by all users under the properties and permissions.

Now I tried to open the sda3-partition using 'Konqueror', I could open the sda3 partition 'located' on my desktop upon which i got transferred to the same partition on another location: /media/sda3, but I could make folders or other new files here, it refused me access when trying to write data.

Now i tried changing the permissions using the 'properties' of the sda3 located in the /media/sda3.. This didn't work since ownership was by 'root' and i couldn't access permissions, since i wasn't owner.