Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hi, I'm using Knoppix 6.0 Live CD on my other computer right now. I need to delete viruses in C:\ and repair cmd.exe. But when I try to delete "2u.com", ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4

    Trouble With Knoppix 6.0


    Hi,

    I'm using Knoppix 6.0 Live CD on my other computer right now. I need to delete viruses in C:\ and repair cmd.exe. But when I try to delete "2u.com", "autorun.inf" etc. (which are being viruses) it says "Operation is not permitted" (I think). I mean it doesn't let me do anything on my files. But it lets me do in my D:\ drive. How can I copy or delete my files in C:\ drive?


    -------

    And I couldn't find the main menu after entering "WWW" part. How can I return to the main page?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    Try to mount partitions using filesystem ntfs-3g and umask=0 options.
    Let say, device name assigned to partition is /dev/sda2
    Execute this
    Code:
    su -
    umount /dev/sda2
    mkdir /media/sda2
    mount -t ntfs-3g  /dev/sda2  /media/sda2 -o defaults,umask=0
    ls /media/sda2
    You will have full access in /media/sda2.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Hi and Welcome !

    Try to mount partitions using filesystem ntfs-3g and umask=0 options.
    Let say, device name assigned to partition is /dev/sda2
    Execute this
    Code:
    su -
    umount /dev/sda2
    mkdir /media/sda2
    mount -t ntfs-3g  /dev/sda2  /media/sda2 -o defaults,umask=0
    ls /media/sda2
    You will have full access in /media/sda2.
    Where will I write them down?

    After saying "(f)Browse ...."?


    (Sorry for being that much complicated but I'm a newbie."

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute those commands in Terminal or Konsole. Look for it in Menu.

    You have to check device name assigned to C:\ drive.
    By default it should be /dev/sda1. Replace /dev/sda2 with /dev/sda1 in commands I posted earlier.

    In case it doesn't work, execute this :

    Code:
    su -
    fdisk -l
    du -h
    Post output here.
    * Its small L in fdisk -l.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Execute those commands in Terminal or Konsole. Look for it in Menu.

    You have to check device name assigned to C:\ drive.
    By default it should be /dev/sda1. Replace /dev/sda2 with /dev/sda1 in commands I posted earlier.

    In case it doesn't work, execute this :

    Code:
    su -
    fdisk -l
    du -h
    Post output here.
    * Its small L in fdisk -l.
    Hi again.

    I`m writing these in Linux. But bad news, I failed. I try to write them in "Shell" but it says again "Permission".

    Any more suggestions? By the way, at starting it says "Knoppix found at /dev/hdc"

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute this in Terminal :
    Code:
    su -
    /sbin/fdisk -l
    df -h
    Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Execute this in Terminal :
    Code:
    su -
    /sbin/fdisk -l
    df -h
    Post output here.
    But when I write "su -" and press Enter, it says "Password:". Then I hit another key but it doesn`t go on.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    19
    You shoud go to the Menu, then Accessories>Root Terminal. Then you'll be able to accomplish the tasks proposed. (this is the way to operate as 'root' in Knoppix 6 live-cd)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •