Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi I'm new to linux/knoppix I am trying to access/save files from an unbootable Windows XP laptop (acer, oem installation, windows could not start- corrupt- windows/system32/config/system) i have knoppix 6.2 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

cannot boot linux, endlessly loops to acer start screen & back 2 knoppix penguin...

Hi I'm new to linux/knoppix

I am trying to access/save files from an unbootable Windows XP laptop (acer, oem installation, windows could not start- corrupt- windows/system32/config/system)

i have knoppix 6.2 and can load from cd (downloaded by bitorrent ) to the screen with the penguin and it tries to boot then says; loading linux.................then loading minirt.gz.............

THEN comp. starts a repeating cycle of going to a white acer start screen that has the option of DEL enter setup or F12 enter BIOS then loops back to the knoppix booting as i described above

I have tried a few cheatcodes but it seems to be rebooting/restarting (with a beep) before linux gets a chance to boot anything

Have also tried to stop automatic restarting from BIOS somehow but dont know how to do this, (and when i disabled "power on self test" it restarted with memory test failed - dont know if that is relevant)

Any ideas?
    Thx

Linux Guru
    I would see if booting up on another computer would give the same symptoms. Also would do a md5sum check of download.

Just Joined!
    thx,
    i got: out of range 35.4 Hz / 43 hz with the same monitor on another win XP....and tried cheatcode "failsafe" and that worked - forgot to connect a mouse and dont seem able to do anything now(keyboard seems to do nothing although i dont know what to type & dont know what failsafe is...!?)anyway will work on that, but failsafe did NOT work on original comp. ...?