Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello, I am new to Linux. Sort of. When I was in my first programming class, our teacher passed out some Knoppix 3.4 cds, which worked fine on my laptop. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Difficulties between PC and CD

Hello, I am new to Linux. Sort of. When I was in my first programming class, our teacher passed out some Knoppix 3.4 cds, which worked fine on my laptop. Since then (several years ago) the laptop has died off, but a week ago I was going through some old stuff and pulled out the old cd. When I tried to use it, it didn't work. So I made a Knoppix 6.2 cd and that failed as well.

My problem is this: I have a HP Pavillion Media Center PC from around 2003-2004. It was a powerful machine when I got it, and when it's not choking on it's power supply or floppy disk reader, it is still somewhat above average. Recently it has been freezing on the HP logo screen when it starts up, prompting me to want to change OS's to see if it is Windows's fault. But when I try to boot into Linux, it always freezes. This is unlike the Windows where it only sometimes freezes.

Is this the BIOS problem I keep hearing about? I haven't a clue how to access mine or even what I'd do if I managed to access it. Does this problem sound familiar to anyone? Would anyone know how to fix it?

I know my computer is old and should really just be replaced. I'm working on that but I have no money, so I'm trying to stretch more life out of my current machine.
    Thank you for reading all that, and thank you for any help you might be able to give!

Hi and Welcome !

It could be a Graphics Card problem. Linux doesn't configure Nvidia and ATI Graphics Card sometimes. Both cards are well supported now but it happens in a few machines.

Which Graphics Card do you have? Have you tried LiveCD of any other Linux distro?