Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I 'm using knoppix live cd 6.2 All is ok with WLAN card in knoppix and it connects to my wireless router (gateway) for my access to internet, but when ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4

    WLAN ok but can't get to internet ?


    I 'm using knoppix live cd 6.2
    All is ok with WLAN card in knoppix and it connects to my wireless router (gateway) for my access to internet, but when i open web browser in knoppix i can't access any page ? this is very strange to me
    in windows all works fine

  2. #2
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    could be DNS issue, post contents of /etc/resolv.conf file

    also, are you able to ping your gateway?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4
    resolve.conf
    # insert nameservers here
    # nameserver 127.0.0.1]
    resolv.conf.dpkg-old

    # nameserver 192.168.0.1
    nameserver 127.0.0.1
    nameserver 131.246.9.116
    i'm total newbie and i'm just starting to learn basic things about linux so don't laugh ( i skipped few steps here in learning linux couse i always need internet)
    i rewrote those files to 192.168.1.1 which is my gateway, i couldn't save them at /etc/ (don't have permission) so i copied them to /home/knoppix and modifed them, then it worked ok
    how can knoppix know from where to read resolve.cfg ?
    is this standard procedure
    I downloaded few books about linux but as i read them few there is no in depth, could you recommend me some book which is in depth linux

  4. #4
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    are you using DHCP on the router? resolv.conf should be set automatically with DHCP

    otherwise you need to edit resolv.conf by hand and put in your nameservers

    i haven't used knoppix in a while, but you could try to edit the file by using sudo nano /etc/resolv.conf and see if that works

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4
    you didin't understand me, i said it worked , now i can go to internet
    i modifed upper files to my gateway

  6. #6
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    i did understand, you asked more questions which I was attempting to answer regarding the resolv.conf file

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •