Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi all, I'm relatively new to Linux and programming. I am using Knoppix version 6.2.1 but cannot seem to compile a simple program to add two numbers together. The source ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unable to compile using g++

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to Linux and programming. I am using Knoppix version 6.2.1 but cannot seem to compile a simple program to add two numbers together. The source code was written in a leafpad document and named "SimpleAdder.cc". I saved this to a directory called ~/c++ . In the terminal I changed to this directory then typed "g++ SimpleAdder.cc -o SimpleAdder". The terminal returned

"bash: g++: command not found"

Can anyone help me figure where I went wrong? (I also tried "make SimpleAdder" while in the same directory but only got "make: g++: command not found" and "make: *** [SimpleAdder] Error 127".

Thanks in advance

Just Joined!
    I have just thoughts; maybe the CD version of Knoppix 6.2.1 which I am using doesn't have a C++ compiler?

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Rudipoo View Post
    I have just thoughts; maybe the CD version of Knoppix 6.2.1 which I am using doesn't have a C++ compiler?
    I seem to be having the same issues...see my thread below yours.

Maybe we need the dvd version of knoppix.

Just Joined!
    Hi all,

I'm relatively new to Linux and programming. I am using Knoppix version 6.2.1 but cannot seem to compile a simple program to add two numbers together. The source code was written in a leafpad document and named "SimpleAdder.cc". I saved this to a directory called ~/c++ . In the terminal I changed to this directory then typed "g++ SimpleAdder.cc -o SimpleAdder". The terminal returned