Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: knoppix

Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    164

    knoppix


    hello,
    I tried knoppix 3.7 and i liked it alot. All the hardware and stuff was working great. Does any one know how to install knoppix on the hd or do something to it so i dont have to use the cd and can just load it as a normal os.
    Windows is the problem, Linux is the solution!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Just run knoppix-installer from a konsole.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    164
    Just run knoppix-installer from a konsole.
    I have the knoppix 3.7 live cd. please tell me what do you mean by "run knoppix-installer from a konsole" knowing that i am a newbie
    Windows is the problem, Linux is the solution!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rockin' in the USA!!!
    Posts
    603
    I do not use knoppix all that much, but that probably means to open the konsole and type
    Code:
    knoppix-installer

  6. #5
    Linux User gassman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Midwest USA
    Posts
    292
    lmao at u and your many os's
    If we couldn't laugh we would all go insane--Jimmy Buffett


    Registered Linux user # 376962

  7. #6
    Linux User zeeone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Third Stone From The Sun
    Posts
    287
    Quote Originally Posted by new2linux4now
    Just run knoppix-installer from a konsole.
    I have the knoppix 3.7 live cd. please tell me what do you mean by "run knoppix-installer from a konsole" knowing that i am a newbie
    Whaaat? You list all those distros and postings and still want someone to hold your hand? Get a life.
    Research, research, research before you walk the plank.
    Registered Linux User #398829

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    164
    Whaaat? You list all those distros and postings and still want someone to hold your hand? Get a life.
    i want to try out diffrent distros and see which one i like the best.
    i want to install knoppix because everything that i needed works fine.


    all the distros that it shows are the distros that i have used not the distros that i have installed. i only have one linux and windows xp currently installed.
    Windows is the problem, Linux is the solution!

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Canada Eh!
    Posts
    21
    New2linux,

    I'm also a noobie but I've installed Knoppix 3.6 and it is working fine.

    When you already booted KNoppix 3.7 go to a console (small monitor icon) and type "sudo knoppix-installer". A window will pop-up and will give you the choices on how to install the distro. I suggest you use the "Debian Style" of installation. Make sure to read all the items on the pop-up because you might have to partition your harddisk.

    Best of luck!

  10. #9
    or u can try knx2hd in console....

  11. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by yogi85
    or you can try knx2hd in console....
    That command is not supported anymore.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •