Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
i have another problem, haha. I am trying to find out if there's a way to change the ORDER in which the system boots. Currently, mine checks the drives in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Huntsville, Texas
    Posts
    14

    booting


    i have another problem, haha. I am trying to find out if there's a way to change the ORDER in which the system boots. Currently, mine checks the drives in this order:

    1. A: (floppy)
    2. C: (hard drive)
    3. E: (scsi cd-rom)

    Is there a way to make the computer check for a bootable cd-rom(E: drive) before it boots from the hard disk(c: drive)?

    Brian

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    yes, in he BIOS, there's an option where you can select the boot sequence... usualy PG-UP/PG-DOWN will toggle between those options..

    Please hit me back if you required more information
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  3. #3
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    When you boot up, it should say something like:
    Code:
    press f2 for setup
    or something like that.. Enter your BIOS setup, and change the boot priority there.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    You must enter the BIOS, to do this at boot press a button like Delete, F1, F2, F12, or Esc (it depends on the kind of BIOS you have), then go to the part of the BIOS that talks about the boot order, you will get here using the arrow keys, as well as the enter key.
    When you have selected the Cd drive use the + key to raise it above the hard drive, now the cd drive will boot first (if there isn't a bootable floppy in the drive);

    hope this helps;

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  6. #5
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    and it might alse be that you press Del or F10 to enter the BIOS

    and a little more rare but used mostly on enterprise servers you may need a floppy or cd to enter the bios(probably not with a home puter though)
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Huntsville, Texas
    Posts
    14

    i've got it all figured out

    I figured everything out and i'm running kanotix right now. It's awesome. Thanks guys. Oh, i know this is a little off topic... but do any of you guys know of any linux live cd distro's that allow you to edit all of the files on the CD?

    Brian

  8. #7
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    I'm not quite sure what you mean by that. CD's are inherently Read-Only by nature, so I'm not quite sure what you mean...

  9. #8
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    I don't think this is possaible since you would have to re-burn the cd to save your changes.
    I can think if none that do this, correct me if I am wrong;

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Huntsville, Texas
    Posts
    14
    what i meant is something like http://www.atconsultancy.nl/atmission/.
    I know there has got to be some other distro that does this type of thing. Kanotix doesn't though. Thanks.

    Brian

  11. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    217
    according to the list, i think knoppix can do all of that to a certain extent, but correct me if im wrong. i use knoppix 3.7 and it seems to be able to do that
    Linux is for those who want to know why their computer works.

    Registered Linux Machine #293111
    Registered Linux User #371115

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •