Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I have a viewsonic vp201: 20 inch LCD with native resolution 1600x1200. Unfortunately this monitor is not an option in kxconfig. I am very new to knoppix/linux/unix/etc. I'd like to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2

    Help a new user with Monitor and Resolution settings


    I have a viewsonic vp201: 20 inch LCD with native resolution 1600x1200. Unfortunately this monitor is not an option in kxconfig. I am very new to knoppix/linux/unix/etc.

    I'd like to start tooling around and learning more...but I can't get this to run at a remotely useable resolution let alone the native 1600 x1200.

    What do I do? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    217
    you can reboot knoppix in different settings, and you should be able to change the screen settings. To get there you put in the knoppix CD, press F3 (on the boot screen), and then look for the option 'knoppix screen' and type

    Code:
    knoppix screen=1600x1200 depth=(enter color depth)
    then 'enter'
    and it should boot with those options.

    from there also you can change lots of settings
    Linux is for those who want to know why their computer works.

    Registered Linux Machine #293111
    Registered Linux User #371115

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2
    Thanks I'll give that a try...but don't be suprise if I come back with questions

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    217
    hope it works, and welcome to the forums
    Linux is for those who want to know why their computer works.

    Registered Linux Machine #293111
    Registered Linux User #371115

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2
    Hi
    does not work for me. I want 800x600

    Went to ManLUG yesterday and got shown how to do it in 3.1 but did not make adequate notes.

    Can not even read my screen in 3.7. Video card OK; I think; but monitor no longer able to support its detected resolution

    Also does 3.7 support IP forwarding and 2 network cards?

    George

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    217
    on boot up screen for knoppix v 3.7:

    Code:
    knoppix screen=800x600 depth=(enter color depth i.e. 8bit/16bit/24bit/32bit)
    it should show those res, i m not sure on the networking. Hope this helps.
    Linux is for those who want to know why their computer works.

    Registered Linux Machine #293111
    Registered Linux User #371115

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2
    Hi
    booted it on a machine with a better monitor and found a tool in the notification area. Can now boot my pc blind and navigate to it.

    No news on dual network cards yet

    George

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •