Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I have knoppix 3.8 installed on the hard drive. When i click on CD-rom on the desktop, it says /mnt/cd-rom not found. when i look in the directory, i see ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Default
    Posts
    27

    CD-rom


    I have knoppix 3.8 installed on the hard drive. When i click on CD-rom on the desktop, it says /mnt/cd-rom not found. when i look in the directory, i see a locked file CD-rom and it says "this file doesn't seem to exist anymore". How do i view and run the contents of my cd drive?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Try this in the terminal:
    Code:
    su
    [rootpass]
    mkdir /mnt/cdrom
    mount /dev/hdc /mnt/cdrom
    if that doesn't work try
    Code:
    su
    [rootpass]
    mount /dev/hdd /mnt/cdrom
    if that doesn't work try
    Code:
    su
    [rootpass]
    mkdir /mnt/cdrom
    mount /dev/hdb /mnt/cdrom
    and if that doesn't work try
    Code:
    su
    [rootpass]
    mkdir /mnt/cdrom
    mount /dev/hda /mnt/cdrom
    .

    then navigate your cd rom via /mnt/cdrom

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Default
    Posts
    27
    Code:
    mkdir /mnt/cdrom
    mkdir: cannot create directory `/mnt/cdrom': File exists
    mount /dev/hdc /mnt/cdrom
    mount: mount point /mnt/cdrom is a symbolic link to nowhere
    it gives me this for all of the commands

  4. #4
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Hmm try this:

    Try this in the terminal:
    Code:
    su
    [rootpass]
    mkdir /mnt/cd
    mount /dev/hdc /mnt/cd
    if that doesn't work try
    Code:
    su
    [rootpass]
    mount /dev/hdd /mnt/cd
    if that doesn't work try
    Code:
    su
    [rootpass]
    mkdir /mnt/cd
    mount /dev/hdb /mnt/cd
    and if that doesn't work try
    Code:
    su
    [rootpass]
    mkdir /mnt/cd
    mount /dev/hda /mnt/cd
    .

    then navigate your cd rom via /mnt/cd

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Default
    Posts
    27
    first three i recieved "not a valid block device" last one i recieved

    Code:
     mount /dev/hda /mnt/cd
    mount: /dev/hda already mounted or /mnt/cd busy
    note that lately i've had incident(after i posted the first post) where i think the BIOS thinks my cdrom drive is the hard drive since it doesnt recognize a master drive and i put the cdrom drive in my boot sequence and then it loaded my OS successfully but didnt load my live CD.

    P.S. my partitions are hda's

  6. #6
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Hmm I'm not sure that Knoppix is seeing your cdrom drive, I'm not sure I can help further at the moment sorry. But I do take that you are trying this all with a cd in the cd rom drive?

    /dev/hda is your hard drive that is why it ios already mounted, so now we no not to look at that

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •