Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
what's the knoppix root password?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    54

    knoppix root password


    what's the knoppix root password?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    if i remember correctly, there isn't one, unless u run the passwd command as root.

    And then it will be what u set it to
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    908
    Just type "sudo su -" to become root. No password is set by default.
    serzsite.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won\'t save you from yourself"

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    18

    root password

    If you are not on your own machine (ie at work, etc) it
    might just be the same as your login password. If you
    are allowed to be root. Type ... and see if it asks for
    a password.

    If you are not, you have to ask around for someone to
    set you up as root. Be careful though if you are new to
    Linux, being root can create more problems than it
    solves...

    Mariane

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Mission TX - 1500 yards from the border
    Posts
    9

    Knoppix Password

    None of these techniques seem to work with the Knoppix 4.0 DVD. Anyone succesfully get into the admin mode on 4.0? I cannot setup my network without it.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    18

    Password

    Look at your installation packet very very closely.
    I know you have probably done it, but once I found,
    not the password but the serial number which was
    needed to install, in very small print on a slip of
    paper inside the packet...

    Mary

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie ihayhurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    138
    on the cd version not even sudo was required, su - was enough,
    Ian
    Registerd Linux user #119296

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1
    when i try to use certain programs it prompts me to enter in the root password, i tried the ones listed above and nothing seems to work.

  10. #9
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Does Knoppix 4.0 not have a "root console"?

    All the Knoppix versions I have dealt with I just right-clicked on the penguin in the taskbar and selected "root console/terminal"
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    For some reason i have noticed when suing if you add the - to pick up the new env it wont work try
    Code:
    sudo su && passwd

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •