Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi im very new to linux and am interested in it but i dont want to buy a new computer to install it on so i was wondering if i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux User

can i install linux and windows at the same time

hi
    im very new to linux and am interested in it but i dont want to buy a new computer to install it on so i was wondering if i could install it along with my windows xp home edition and have some way to choose which one to start up with.
    thanks
    also if u could include any info that would be helpful to a beginner..thanks

Of course. This is called dual-booting. The easiest way is to:
    1. Defragment your windows drive
    2. Use a disk partitioning app like partition magic to create some free space at the end of your windows drive (10 gigs should be enough)
    3. Install linux! It will notice the free space, then you can make partitions for it (at least two, swap and /, aka 'root')
    Stumbling around the 'net:
    www.cloudyuseful.com

Most distros have a partitioning tool that will resize NTFS without damaging data.
    I have always used these partitioning tools and have not done any damage to a Windows system yet.
    Except for my own, but that was sub-consciously intentional.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

New users read The FAQ

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!

Dual Boot from Windows XP Home Edition

Windows XP makes a dual boot and creation of a new partition for Linux very easy.