Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
Try this, not sure if Knoppix even has this. Right click on the desktop, select to Logout, or End Current Session. That should bring you to a graphical login screen. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242

    Try this, not sure if Knoppix even has this.
    Right click on the desktop, select to Logout, or End Current Session.
    That should bring you to a graphical login screen. Then login as root.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  2. #12
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    I just looked in the Knoppix FAQ from the link provided on this site.
    And it said there is no root passwd.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #13
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,814
    H budman7,

    Try this, not sure if Knoppix even has this.....
    Yes, still has this function.

    Right click on desktop -> Logout Knoppix

    "End Session for Knoppix" screen started with 4 buttons for selection;
    End Current Session
    Turn Off Computer
    Restart Computer
    Cancel

    hitting "End Current Session" relogin as User again automatcally.

    B.R.
    satimis

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    I don't know what to tell you.
    I have never had a problem using k3b when logging in to knoppix.
    I must have gotten it confused with Mepis.
    I will try later with my Knoppix cd, see what i get.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  6. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5
    hi there root is defult on the knoppix live CD but you still need to

    1- click the knoppix bird on the task bar

    2- click the root comand

    3- type passwd hit enter then type knoppix hit enter then type knoppix again hit enter then close it by clickin the X in the top corner

    thats it

    now when you click the K3b and it ask for user and password just type in knoppix for user and knoppix for passward and your good to go

  7. #16
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,814
    Hi GarenaSix.

    Tks for your advice. I'm now replying you on Knoppix Live CD

    I tried as advised but failed. Steps performed as follows;

    1)
    On bottom task bar, left corner, clicked

    "Knoppix" (bird) -> Root Shell
    to start a terminal.

    2)
    $ passwd
    Enter Unix password:
    Retype Unitx password;
    passwd: password updated successfully
    # knoppix [Enter]
    bash: Knoppix: command not found

    3)
    Closed the terminal

    4)
    Mounted "Hard Disk Partition [hda5]

    5)
    KStart -> Multimedia -> k3b
    K3b started but without requesting for password

    The mounted partition [hda5] appeared there but I could not read it.

    Opened Konsole window
    $ su
    password
    # k3b [Enter]
    to start K3b. I can read partition [hda5]


    Further test made as follows;

    1)
    started Kate on Konsole window as Root
    I can edit files on [hda5] and re-saved it back to [hda5].

    2)
    on Konsole window as Root
    $ su
    # /opt/openoffice/program/swriter
    to start OOo writer.

    I can read and edit files on [hda5] but I was not allowed to re-save them back to [hd5]. I could not understand what reason.

    B.R.
    satimis

  8. #17
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    When you are in Knoppix, and you see the icon that represents hda5, right click on it.
    Now you can select to make it writable.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  9. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    When you are in Knoppix, and you see the icon that represents hda5, right click on it.
    Now you can select to make it writable.
    yep what budman7 said .. nothing is writeable till you allow it to be

  10. #19
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,814
    Hi budman7,

    When you are in Knoppix, and you see the icon that represents hda5, right click on it. Now you can select to make it writable.
    I did it mounting hda5 otherwise I can't visit hda5 even as Root. However I can't understand why as Root I can re-save .txt files back to hda5 after editing. But I'm not allowed to re-save .doc files back after editing the same with OOoWriter.

    B.R.
    satimis

  11. #20
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    That is really weird, if you can do one, you should be able to do the other.
    My guess it would be something to do with the code it is written in. But, I am totally lost on this subject.

    Let's hope somebody else will come along who knows more about that kind of thing.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •