Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey. I'm new to knoppix, got it a week ago. I've got a few problems though. first, I can't access my harddrives. when i click ''Hard Disk (sda) /mnt/sda/", a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Knoppix can not access my harddrive!

Hey. I'm new to knoppix, got it a week ago. I've got a few problems though.

first, I can't access my harddrives. when i click ''Hard Disk (sda) /mnt/sda/", a box shows up:

"/dev/sda: Input/output error

mount: I could not determine the filesystem type, and none was specified

Please check that the disk is entered correctly."

Edit: These are SATA Drives. I am no hardware freak, so i haven't got knowledge about what SATA is, But could that be the problem?

Of course, It is entered correctly, since i also use windows. could this be the problem? I've read on the web about knoppix being able to read almost all disks. I think the filesystem is FAT32, if that could be the problem. also, i can click "Hard disk (sys) /sys/" but i get another box with the text:

"mount: only root can mount /sys on /sys

please check that the disk is entered correctly"

My other problem, (probably depending on this one) is that i can't save knoppix configuration. I've done it on a floppy disk, but when i type "knoppix myconfig=/mnt/auto/floppy", it makes an attempt to load the config, but it doesn't find the dir. and "knoppix myconfig=scan" doesn't work either, it won't find anything.

And, this is not necessary, But i'd like to have sound enabled... is it possible with a live-cd?

if you come up with an answer to these problems, please keep in mind that i cannot download any bigger files, since I'm using a 56k.

Please help a learning Newbie.

Thanks, GuessWho.

Just Joined!
    Fat32 drives are NOT the problem. It's the NTFS filesystems that knoppix has trouble writing to them.

I get that error sometimes when I try & mount a crazy floppy disk sometimes.