Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Apparently lilo is still on my second hd from my last project, and I think its stopping me from using the Knoppix live cd (though I'm not sure if the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    97

    do i need to get rid of lilo?


    Apparently lilo is still on my second hd from my last project, and I think its stopping me from using the Knoppix live cd (though I'm not sure if the cd is even good since it wont work anywhere)

    How do I rid the second hd of lilo? Or what do I do to fix the problem?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Having lilo shouldn't affect anything. Make sure your BIOS is set to check the CD Drive before the HDD.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    97
    it always has been cd before hd. when I put the livecd in, it just goes to lilo (which has 4 non valid booting options)

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Did you burn this disc yourself or did you purchase it?

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    97
    I burned it myself.

    Actually I dl-ed the iso from one of the mirrors, and that cd worked great. Recently I lost the cd, but had a backup dvd that had the files on it. So I burned a data disk with those files (was that my mistake?) on to a cd-r and thats where I am.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    97
    double post sorry

  8. #7
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    I guess you didn't burn it right.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    97
    alright i got a correct burn this time, the iso worked right and the livecd booted up. I cleared everything on the hd in question, and installed Knoppix on it.

    I still have the same problem. When I boot up, it gives me three choices in lilo, all named Linux, 2 with version numbers after the name.

  10. #9
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Edit /etc/lilo.conf, get rid of the old entries, and run /sbin/lilo

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    97
    heres the part in lilo.conf that i think is important, please help:

    Code:
    default="Linux"
    
    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    	label="Linux"
    	initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    	append="ramdisk_size=100000 init=/etc/init lang=us apm=power-off nomce quiet"
    	read-only
    image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.27
    	label="Linux(2.4)-1"
    	initrd=/boot/initrd.img-2.4.27
    	append="ramdisk_size=100000 init=/etc/init lang=us apm=power-off nomce quiet"
    	read-only
    	
    image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.7
    	label="Linux(2.6)-2"
    	initrd=/boot/initrd.img-2.6.7
    	append="ramdisk_size=100000 init=/etc/init lang=us apm=power-off nomce quiet"
    	read-only

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •