Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi i am new to linux but i been using knoppix live cd an i really like it and i would like to install to hd i get to the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

knoppix hardrive installing help please

hi i am new to linux but i been using knoppix live cd an i really like it

and i would like to install to hd i get to the bit after partiton the hd where it says formating and it just sits there left it for 10 mins and the % bar never moved. any idea what has gone wrong

also i have winxp on my laptop and want to have a dual boot for winxp or knoppix i am going to install knoppix on to my 60 gig external hardrvie

but want to have the boot option to boot into winxp or knoppix i have no floppy on laptop but got a cdwriter can some one please help me out with this tia

for any help

oz
    forum.guy
    If you are a linux newbie and running into troubles, you might be better off using WinXP and Partition Magic to format your hard drive. Then you can easily install Knoppix on the newly created partitions.

Hope this helps...

Check out this
    tutorial
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

New users read The FAQ

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    how do you partition you hardrive for linux using partition magic ?

oz
    forum.guy
    Here's a wiki for using PM8 to create or resize partitions:

http://wiki.ehow.com/Resize-and-Crea...tition-Magic-8